What I LOVE about Thai Culture: People

So this is similar to them being generous but there is so much more too! They are people full of life and not afraid to have FUN! They are sassy, FUN and silly.

What country stops for 3 days to have a nationwide water war during the hottest point of the year?!? They love having FUN and need to have FUN!

songkran 2

I remember in Phuket, the girls would hide behind a wall to splash or scare me when I walked by. Or constantly making weird faces and taking ridiculous pictures with the Zion staff girls!

sour face nam liz gwang silly

It’s not uncommon to find them putting ice down your back, drawing on your arms (who needs to get real tattoos when you have them to draw on you?!) Imagine siblings that like each other, that is what we are here. [it may be hard for the westerner to initially understand this, but once you loosen up it’s a lot of fun!]

arm tattoo  398633_806545823779_909728763_n  tongue

Besides their childlike spirits, they are really kind, considerate and thoughtful.

It is not uncommon for me to see that my motorbike has been cleaned by another person. This has happened countless times at my apartment, but even the last time I went to the store.

There was one time, I forgot my keys in my motorbike and I came back with it wrapped in a plastic bag and hanging on my mirror (making it look like the other bikes) and inside were my keys and a sweet note from a random stranger.

In the elevator, there will always be someone holding the elevator door for you (like when you are running trying to make the elevator ride). They care for people more than their task at hand.

In Thai culture, you don’t ask if you can help, you simply help and do what it needed.

massage bing

 What would the world look like if we were a little more like this? Comment below with your thoughts!

 

Like this post? Read more from this series:
What I LOVE about Thai culture: Generosity
What I LOVE about Thai culture: 7-Eleven
What I LOVE about Thai culture: Language

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey, Thai Culture, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I LOVE about Thai Culture: People

  1. Bringle, Lorri says:

    This is SO awesome Liz!! Sounds like you are going GREAT! Sorry I haven’t been in contact. I’m amazed how informed you keep everyone.

    God Bless you in your journey as you serve Him!

  2. andthreetogo says:

    I totally agree with you! Happy Songkran! We only officially celebrate it here today. So I am getting ready to go out and get wet! 🙂

Leave a comment