What I LOVE about Thai Culture: Language

Thai is unlike any other language that I have studied. I love the simplicity of the language. It’s comprised of many compound words. They do not over-complicate anything. ไทยไม่เหมือนภาษาอื่น ๆ ที่ฉันเรียนแล้ว  มันเป็นภาษาที่ง่ายๆค่ะ

way outGood ดี+ heart ใจ= happy

Make ทำ + body ตัว= behave

Store ร้าน + Food อาหาร= restaurant

Exit + outside + story= to talk off topic

Think คิด+ to ถึง +home บ้าน=homesick

Break หัก+ face หน้า =  to loose face/bring shame on someone

Try it out for yourself here! A Thai Language Game

 

There is only one present tense, one past tense and one future tense. It is super simple and easy to pick up.

I go…. ฉันไป…

I go already… ฉันไปแล้ว

I will go…. ฉันจะไป [or add a future time]  Tomorrow I go… พรุ่งนี้ฉันไป…                           Next month I go…  เดือนหน้าฉันไป…

 

Their alphabet also makes a lot of sense. Each letter has a designated sound and this never changes (unlike English). Once you learn a letter, it will always make that same sound no matter what combination it is used in (with the exception of one combination). [Unlike English, you have ‘C’ and ‘H’, but put them together ‘Ch’ you have a new sound!]

thai letters

Plus, it is beautiful and fun to write. Sometimes they may seem like doodles to the unfamiliar eye, but it is really a fun piece of art.

Try it out for yourself!http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mJNrs4z_Pn0

Do you want to know what your name looks like in Thai? Comment below and I will comment back with your name written in Thai!

Like this post? Read more from this series:
What I LOVE about Thai culture: Generosity
What I LOVE about Thai culture: 7-Eleven
 

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Chiang Mai, Language Learning, Thai Culture, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What I LOVE about Thai Culture: Language

  1. Susie says:

    I used to know how to write my name from when I went to Thailand back in 1997!! I haven’t written it in a long time.. I loved the language too.. it is so much easier than Japanese!!!!

  2. andthreetogo says:

    I cannot wait to learn Thai. i plan on starting classes when we return in a month for a visit home to the States. Thanks for my first lesson.🙂

Leave a Reply

