Oh shoe ah!

We have a very new staff and they speak a very different dialect of Thai that I have never heard spoken before. I am doing my best to try and learn a new word or phrase a day…it’s turning into about 2 words a week (but at least it is a start!)

Oh shoe ah translates to “How are you?” in the Thai dialect called “Na la mee deu law”

photo 3It is going to be the start of another language chapter of my life SO THAT I can better connect to these women.

Initially, these women were really shy and would barely speak to me. Now they come up to me and ask “oh shoe ah” and I reply “oh shoe!”. They smile. It is a start.

I shared how I want to learn a new word each day and they think of a new word each day for me. One even breaks down each syllable for me to clearly hear.

I am excited for the new relationships that will form as a result of me attempting to learn their language all audibly.

photo 2

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Chiang Mai, Language Learning, My Journey, Thailand and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh shoe ah!

  1. Cliff Frazier says:

    Thanks for the Ah shoe post. Sounds like the new Thai dialect will be a challenge but I’m sure you will have success. It’s great to hear about the connections you are building with the Thai people and how they open up to you. We’re thinking of and praying for you.

    • lizolson says:

      Thanks for the encouragement!

      I sure hope I’m able to pick up this new dialect! I found a fiend who made a mini booklet of common phrases and she’s going to send me a copy to have a place to start!

      Looks like my prayers are getting answered slowly!

Leave a Reply

