What I LOVE about Thai Culture: Generosity

gen·er·os·i·ty : the quality of being kind, understanding, and not selfish : the quality of being generous; especially : willingness to give money and other valuable things to others  (Merriam-Webster Dictionary)

I love that what is yours is actually for everyone in Thailand!

Thai generousMy first few months in Thailand I had to stop complimenting people’s clothing, because they would literally start to take it off to give it to you! No joke! (I later rephrased it to “You look very beautiful today, just like you did yesterday and I know you will look beautiful tomorrow too.”)

They are soooooo sincerely generous. Thai’s will share everything with you, from bags of chips to nail polish colors. Just today I was at a restaurant where I ordered a drink with lemon sorbet. She walked by to make sure that “A-Leee saaa” was ok. I told her everything was very delicious and she then takes my cup and adds more sorbet to it.

It’s also not uncommon for me to get to know the nearby Phad Thai Lady, ask about her family, pray for her and later swing by and give her a cold drink.

In Thailand, once they consider you as “friend” you are in turn considered “family”. They want to make sure you are ok and it is like the snowball effect. If everyone acts this way, everyone gets blessed and honored in return.

Eating with my Thai family in the village

Eating with my Thai family in the village

In restaurants when you want to call someone over to your table, you say “brother”, “sister”, “uncle” or “aunt” (depending on their age and gender). Isn’t this cool? They treat everyone as if they are in their family, because in their eyes, they are family.

We were treated to this amazing meal to experience  'Thai camping"

We were treated to this amazing meal to experience ‘Thai camping”

 

Like this post? Read more from this series:
What I LOVE about Thai culture: People
What I LOVE about Thai culture: 7-Eleven
What I LOVE about Thai culture: Language
 

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Chiang Mai, Thai Culture, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I LOVE about Thai Culture: Generosity

  1. cornishkylie says:

    I love this, it is all true and is everything that I too love about the Thai people. I always feel so welcome, which helps when you are thousand of miles from home.

    • lizolson says:

      They have become my family. They relate differently, but eventually you connect with it and act more like they do, I think I have become a better person because of them!

Leave a Reply

