But God…

I recently have been amazed by the ‘little words’ orconjunctions’ in the bible (and, for, so, but, yet…). These words are only comprised of a few letters but can mean so much! I am going to take you on the adventure I have been on myself. Right now I am drawn to the ‘buts’… this blog is all about “But God”. There may be trials or you may feel forgotten, but God is there. God sees you, he has not forgotten you.

Let’s let the scriptures speak for themselves.

Genesis 8:1

But God remembered Noah and all the wild animals and livestock with him in the boat. He sent a wind to blow across the earth, and the floodwaters began to recede.

Genesis 19:28-30

 He looked out across the plain toward Sodom and Gomorrah and watched as columns of smoke rose from the cities like smoke from a furnace. But God had listened to Abraham’s request and kept Lot safe, removing him from the disaster that engulfed the cities on the plain.

Psalm 66:19
But God did listen! He paid attention to my prayer.

Genesis 50:20
You intended to harm me, but God intended it all for good. He brought me to this position so I could save the lives of many people.

1 Samuel 23:14
David now stayed in the strongholds of the wilderness and in the hill country of Ziph. Saul hunted him day after day, but God didn’t let Saul find him.

Psalm 54:4
But God is my helper. The Lord keeps me alive!

Acts 7:9
“These patriarchs were jealous of their brother Joseph, and they sold him to be a slave in Egypt. But God was with him

2 Samuel 14:14
All of us must die eventually. Our lives are like water spilled out on the ground, which cannot be gathered up again. But God does not just sweep life away; instead, he devises ways to bring us back when we have been separated from him.

Romans 5:7-8

 Now, most people would not be willing to die for an upright person, though someone might perhaps be willing to die for a person who is especially good.  But God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Bible, Biblical Conjunctions, My Journey, Spiritual Journey, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to But God…

  1. Alexandria Reiley says:

    Amazing. A little word with such powerful meaning. Gives us so much to think about. Thanks Liz once again for your sharing your thoughts and wisdom with us.

  2. Sandy Foster says:

    Hi Liz.
    What an amazing reminder, but God always has the best for us. You are an amazing servant of His and it is such a blessing to have you as a friend. Are things going any smoother? How is the new idea for going out to the bars working? What do you want me to specifically pray for?

    • lizolson says:

      I am equally blessed to have you as a friend! Ministry in the new areas went really really well and we are hoping to go back there tonight. We are thinking that we might end up able to teach English in one of those new bars! I am trying to work my schedule around toaccommodateall of the new teaching opportunities. It looks like the Hotel Training Program will be starting soon, teaching of the government officials will happen soon in addition to me teaching locals in our community and the normal teaching to the bar girls. You can be praying for balance for me and also for new teachers, because I cannot do them all well. Thanks for your continued support! Liz

Leave a comment