“I Have No Name”

I had the opportunity to go out and do some ministry in the bars last night and it went so well. I was amazed of how easily it went, it was rather beautiful. I would go into one bar, start up a conversation and by the end of it managed to get a new student! This happened for 10 women! My next English class should be bursting at the seams, which is a good problem to have!

There was also a woman at a bar I visited and I picked up one Connect 4 piece, spoke one sentence in Thai, and that was all it took. The next thing I know is she is sharing everything to me. She shared of how she hates her job. She has been working there for 5 years and she began to tell me of the ‘very bad men’ who frequently abuse her and find pleasure in doing so. She wept in my arms. I would try to sneak a question in and before I could ask it, she would continue in the fastest Thai I have ever heard.

This woman is beyond broken, she is shattered. She has no hope and is exhausted.

I was able to share with her that I do help women like her by teaching English and Hotel Training, but that if she wanted I had a place for her to stay right now and I would be able to pay for all of her food if she wanted it. She was surprised by that offer, but then shared with me of how she had to go to the pole and dance.

I look back to the moment where I simply held her. I remember after just a few moments where she just let herself go. She allowed me to hold her up and release herself into my arms. She began to weep. She was able to feel and simple be herself. She said she did not understand why. Why do they have to hurt me? Why are they happy to hurt me? Why does it have to be this way? Why is there no way out?

Without responding with words, I allowed her the freedom to cry and to be held with no shame. She didn’t have to be strong enough for those few minutes.

Though I hear of these stories so often, my reaction still remains the same. I am in shock that this happens so often and women are left broken, hopeless and without anyone to turn to. We are doing all we can to be there for these women.

We are love, His love living through us. Will you join me in prayer for this woman and for the thousands of others who have a similar story? 

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in English Classes, Human Trafficking, My Journey, SHE, Thailand, True Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “I Have No Name”

  1. Jacci says:

    Incredible story! Praying.

  2. Alexandria Reiley says:

    Amazing Liz. Christ is living through you in a big way for these girls. I picture that scene through heaven’s filter and it’s Christ in that bar holding that crying girl. I will be praying for this girl and the English class. It’s a big class but you can do it, I have no doubts about that!

    • lizolson says:

      Thanks Alex!I was able to go back out tonight and see this woman again. She dropped everything in her hands and ran to me and gave me a BIG hug. I didn’t stay long, but was able to ask how she was and told her to call me whenever she had any problems. She smiled, hugged me again and had a little spark in her for a little moment. PLUS, I went to check on a future student because I needed to confirm some details with her, and I’m glad I did because she’s already told 4 more of her friends! There may easily be 15 students this Tuesday. Yay/eeks!

  3. Sandy says:

    Oh, Liz you are Jesus in the flesh to these girls. I will be praying for the people all overr the world who are in slavery and I will also pray for the people who are in slavery to satan and how that makes them treat others. God’s intervention. Praying for English class and that you will be lifted up by Him as you serve these women who don’t have hope with out Him. Phil 4:6&7

  4. Tony Puccio says:

    I pray that God sends laborers to free those being held captive against their will.

  5. Most definitely praying for this girl. Tears welled up in my eyes. I miss building relationships with those girls.

Leave a Reply

