New & Improved English Classes

I have had a student attend for months now. It is rare for her to miss a single lesson. She is beyond advanced and it has been a challenge to come up with new and exciting material to present to her. She has been seeking and asking some great questions about Christianity. Then it hit me, why not teach from the bible?!? So I am putting together ESL Bible Lessons. We will go through a passage of scripture together, discuss new vocabulary, practice using the new vocabulary, answer questions about the passage verbally and practice writing.

I am beyond excited! I love the freedom in planning my own bible lessons (though it means a lot more work on my part). And through this, it feels right, like it is what I am suppose to do.

Here is the structure that I have set up so far:

Lesson 1: God Created the First People (Genesis 2:4-25)

Lesson 2: The First People Disobeyed God (Genesis 3:1-24)

Lesson 3: God Destroyed Everything with a Flood (Genesis 6-8 bits from each chapter)

Lesson 4: God Chose Abraham (Genesis 11:26-29; 12:1-7; 15:1-6; 17:1-6; 21:2-7)

Lesson 5: Jesus was Born (Luke2:3-7; Matt 2:1-11)

Lesson 6: Jesus Healed Many People (Matt 8:1-17)

Lesson 7: Jesus Taught about Life (John 3:1-21)

Lesson 8: Jesus was Arrested and Died (end of Matt 26 & most of Matt 27)

Lesson 9: God Raised Jesus Back to Life (Matt 28 & John 20:19-20, 26-28)

Lesson 10: The Good News about Jesus (A summary of the 9 previous lessons)

As you may have noticed, there are 4 lessons from the Old Testament, 5 lessons from the New Testament, and 1 lesson reviewing everything that was presented. I think this is a good overall view of Christianity (in 10 Lessons-which each lesson can take numerous lessons to complete depending on the student)

I look forward to trying the first lesson out with my student.

Pray it goes well and that she is able to have a clear understanding of the Gospel Message that will be presented to her over a 10 course period.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in English Classes, SHE and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New & Improved English Classes

  1. Michelle says:

    Soooooo awesome. You were born for this. : )

  2. Alexandria Reiley says:

    That is really great Liz !!! I will definitely pray that all goes well and you make an impact.

  3. Julia says:

    Great idea, you’ll have to tell us how it works! It’s awesome to hear about what you’re up to.
    I’ve used the Bible for English classes before, it’s written in English, so it works, and sometimes students who find out there’s a Thai version are interested in that too. 🙂

Leave a comment