A Thai Breakthrough

This past week, what I was finally waiting for came-My Thai Breakthrough!

I was able to read a short story (in Thai) and translate it. I have been able to talk a little more with the Thai staff and then it really came to be when I went sea canoeing on Sunday. There were phrases spoken in Thai, that it was like second nature to translate it.  Furthermore, the Thai staff was surprised that I spoke their language, and they were drawn to me…for the entire trip.

I ended up getting to know every staff member on the boat. While everyone else was looking at the amazing wonder God created, I was talking in Thai to the Boat Staff. I learned some new words, cracked so many jokes, and had a great time. I even got a personal ‘insiders’ tour of the islands.

It was such an amazing end to a week. The breakthrough feeling is so cool. Everything seems to be coming together. I can hold a conversation now. YAY! I still have a lot to learn, this is just the start! And this excites me!

I was amazed of how the staff would approach me. I didn’t have to do anything. All it took was the one conversation with one person, and it snowballed from there. News spread, and each staff member approached me and we had a conversation. By the end to the day, everyone knew my name and I nearly cried. They became family to me in such a short time. (They even gave me gifts as I left.)

I hope that I will be able to cross their paths again soon. Until then, I thank Jesus for treating me like a Queen today. Through these relationships, I felt honored and blessed tremendously.

P.S. I added new tabs to my page. They are located near the top (About Me, Pictures, Prayer, SHE, Support and Thailand) Click on them to get the latest updates and info, especially Prayer.

Me at James Bond Island

P.S.S Enjoy some pictures from my trip

 

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Language Learning, Phuket, SHE, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Thai Breakthrough

  1. Alexandria Reiley says:

    Great news Liz ! I’m very excited for you and so happy about your language break through. I pray the connection with the Thai people and your ability to pick up on the language will continue.

  2. Alexandria Reiley says:

    Love the pictures

  3. Your Thai is simply amazing! We made need tutoring lessons from you🙂 Excited to join the land of smiles, flying out tomorrow 6 am! Glad you got to enjoy the islands!

    • lizolson says:

      How exciting!!!!! I am rejoicing with you! I pray for safe travels, adjustments (in leaving the States and arriving to your new lifestyle), quick language learning and so much more that I cannot even put into words!

Leave a Reply

