And…Not So Easy Transitions

Many things were surprisingly easy to adjust to, but there are a few things that were hard to re-adjust to when returning to Thailand.

Time เวลา

jet lagDesynchronosis (aka Jet lag) is hard. No matter how many times I experience it, it never seems to get any easier. Some studies have said that it takes 1 day for every hour of time difference to fully adjust. I am now sleeping during the night, but I am still tired and yawning throughout the day. All of the Thai girls laugh when I yawn as a way of showing that they care. After a few giggles, they then say, so home Pi Lip and sleep.

It was hard during church to stay awake. It was only my 2nd full day in Thailand and the pastor had a sore throat, so we watched an hour clip of another pastor preaching. The lights were off, I am sitting in a nice chair…..it was a recipe for sleeping! I somehow made it through awake and understanding 60% of what was being taught.

Physical Touch การสัมผัสแตะต้อ

hugIn America, there is more physical touch between men and women than there is in Thailand. There’s shaking hands, high fives, hand on the back and hugs. I had a hard time adjusting to this when I first arrived in the States, but apparently it became more normal for me. I realized this when I was half way leaning into a hug for my male Thai pastor. The realization came, gravity was taking over, and I managed to ‘stumble’ onto the floor knocking over 2 water bottles and an iced coffee; (falling was a much safer alternative than touching him!). The women picked me up, and ask if I was just tired from traveling so far. I said “YES!”.

Change เปลี่ยน

Apparently A LOT can happen in 6 months! Some Thai shops are no longer where they once were. Some of my Thai friends have moved on to other ministries and work opportunities. The biggest change was with the ministry. The hostel is up and running and getting customers. The rooms are different with some cool additions, and a lot more I am sure to discover.

image

A new mural in the stairway

photo

The new dorm rooms. they have lockers and each bed has a light and power outlet.

image (1)

Another mural in the stairway

 

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Chiang Mai, My Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And…Not So Easy Transitions

  1. andthreetogo says:

    Hope that the jet lag passes quickly! Welcome back!

  2. alysseay says:

    I love seeing Thailand through your eyes:). You fall/cover made me giggle. I can just see you doing it. It makes me very happy to know you are still there loving on the Thai people. I miss it!! Praying for you,

    • lizolson says:

      What a sweet comment! I can laugh now about my fall, and because of culture laughed at in the moment; but it hurt!

      Good thing I was jet lag and could use that as an excuse!!

      Liz Olson

      >

Leave a Reply

