An Easy Transition

Welcome to Chiang Mai

I am back in Chiang Mai, Thailand! I thought it was going to be a much harder transition than it was. I feared I had lost too much of the Thai language to get around, or that I would not know how to find my way around again. I was far from wrong.

I landed, was able to get a cab easily and had a beautiful conversation with the cab driver the entire 30-40 minutes back to my apartment. He said I spoke clearly, like a Thai and that I have a cute spirit/personality.

I walk into my apartment, and I was home. The smell, the bed and everything was the way it was (minus not having water in the bathroom). The next day I went to pay the utility bill from the previous 2 months and said I needed a repair man to come and fit the water problem.

The following day, I begin my walk to the main street to catch the public transportation into town, when a grandfather and son start talking with me and they ended up taking me into town for free (I tried paying many times). During that ride, they insisted on giving me their bicycle.

I go and get my phone set up, and we ended up sharing a meal together. I then get to catch up with the girls from the café, and it was a simple and beautiful reunion. The girls at the massage parlor saw me walk by, and ran out to me and gave me the biggest hug ever.

And the girls at the café surprised me with a desk. All the drawers lock (a BIG deal!).

desk

I am home.

In many ways I am thankful for my time away, because it made me and my Thai friends realize what we have.

I am excited for what is to come in this next season in Thailand.

What are you thankful for?

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Chiang Mai, My Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Easy Transition

  1. Glenn says:

    I am thankful that you’re back home!

  2. kristalsheree says:

    Sounds amazing glad you are safe and sound❤

  3. alysseay says:

    Such a gift! You live a beautiful life.

Leave a Reply

