Teacher Appreciation Week

Do you have a teacher (or a few) that really went above and beyond what was asked of them and did what needed to be done?

I can recall a few amazing teachers (some of which I still stay in contact with to this day)

i knew you couldMrs. Benson, My Kindergarten Teacher. I still remember things that she did to this day. Brown Bear, Saint Patrick’s day, Learning to read, the iguana in the classroom and fun scavenger hunts around the school to find the missing brown bear! And at graduation, she gave us our own brown bears to keep! Then for my high school graduation, I got the book “I knew you could” (Thomas the Train Engine) and a grown up brown bear (the only gift that made me cry).

kelderman

Mr. Kelderman, Algebra 2 Teacher (and I later helped teach Algebra 1 with him) He really takes the time to get to know his students and inspire them to something more! I remember when I was trying to explain a concept, the student wasn’t getting and he told me to do it another way. I did, and the student still wasn’t getting it and he told me to find a way that the student understands. 4 ways later, they finally got it. He taught me how to break things down, look at the problem from different angles and explain concepts more effectively! Thanks Mr. Kelderman!

cooperMr. Cooper– Geometry, AP Calculus and AP Statistics- He is one of the most qualified math teachers I know and he is teaching those in High School. I bet he could have taught at major universities and yet I was lucky to have him teach me! He teaches so clearly. I was more than prepared for college math because of him. He prepared us well for the AP tests, college math and for life in general. Plus, he somehow kept our attention for a month after the AP tests were over!

ariettaMrs. Arietta-French 3/4 and we met many hours before and after school to help fuel my passion for language. Many considered her a hard teacher, but I loved every moment in her classes. She taught with passion, and she made learning a language fun, natural and easy. I use her teaching techniques to teach English in Thailand!

Maybe that’s why I’m so in love with languages today…..

marchandDr. Marchand– Hydrology. The first assignment we had was to schedule a time to meet one-on-one with him and just talk in his office. We talked about my dreams and where I saw myself. To this day if I were to walk down the halls, he will ask me how I am in pursuing my dream of serving in Third World countries. He got to know me as a person and I respect him so much for that, plus he’s super smart but is able to explain it clearly! I would take another class from him in a heartbeat!

hajjDr. Hajj– Pavement Design (yes, you read that right!) It was one of my favorite classes in college because of this man! He taught to make sure you learned the material. It wasn’t about how much you could cram in and instantly loose the second you step out of his classroom. It was an upper level class with graduate students and he made it challenging, interesting and fun (yes, fun). I could probably still do a basic pavement design today and it’s been 7 years since I’ve taken his class!

 

 

Happy Teacher Appreciation Week! (May 5-9, 2014)

What teachers do you appreciate? Comment below with your stories! 

And if you are able to get hold of your favorite teachers, let them know how you feel!

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Teacher Appreciation Week

  1. andthreetogo says:

    I was mostly homeschooled so I have to say my mom was my best teacher🙂

Leave a Reply

