What I LOVE about Thai Culture: Respect & Honor

I love how they respect each other, people of higher status and the royal family!

respect-waiI’ll admit; when I first came to Thailand, I assumed their love for the king was false or unhealthy. I couldn’t have been more wrong! They genuinely love the royal family! It is a deep love and respect. Why? Because the royal family loves and respects its people!

King-movieEvery day at 8am and 6pm, the Thai National Anthem plays and everyone stops to pay respect. And at the end of the song, they will slightly bow to give honor and respect. Even in the movie theaters, they will show a short clip with the National Anthem where everyone stands in respect.

Respecting and honoring your elders/people of higher status is also huge here and it is simply beautiful. They truly care for their elderly, not because they have to, but it’s with such a sincere heart.

respect elderly

I daily see random strangers helping out other elderly strangers. They will rush out of their car, to help a woman cross the street, or someone pull out their umbrella to provide the older woman some shade.

They speak respectfully to each other and about others.

I know I have learned a lot from the Thai people and more of what it means to love, care, honor and respect others.

I’m reminded of Romans 12:10

Love each other with genuine affection, and take delight in honoring each other.

I memorized this verse while in college, but it has taken on an entirely new meaning now that I have seen a culture of honor.

 

Where have you seen honor and respect lived out around you?

 

Like this post? Read more from this series:
What I LOVE about Thai culture: People
What I LOVE about Thai culture: 7-Eleven
What I LOVE about Thai culture: Language
What I LOVE about Thai culture: Generosity

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Thai Culture, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I LOVE about Thai Culture: Respect & Honor

  1. andthreetogo says:

    I totally agree with you!

  2. Truth, beautifully told. You observed wisely and expressed it beautifully. Thank you for putting this into words.

Leave a Reply

