True Character

I’ve spent most of this week cross stitching (read why here) and memories kept flooding my mind with my Grandma and the many things/tricks she taught me.

Then I remembered one thing:

Anyone can make the front look good, it’s the back that you see the true character of the artist.

cs backside VS. cs backside dr who

It’s true. It really isn’t hard to make the front of a needlework project good, it does take skill and time to make the back look good. You can quickly gage an experienced stitcher from the casual crafter by flipping over their work. Cross stitching is an art within itself. To stitch without any loose ends, knots or long gaps is more challenging more worth it in the end. To do this well, the stitcher must plan ahead, be intentional and aware.

I wonder if someone were to gauge my life’s design, what will the quality of my work say about me? I strive for excellence and try to avoid the easy way out. I hope to diligently work towards a grand masterpiece of His grand design and plan.

Cross stitching isn’t super difficult. There is a plan, details on how to achieve the masterpiece. Yes, some projects take longer than others. But they all require patience, diligence and for us to keep working at it. Yes, you may be working with the same color for days, weeks or years; but it’s slowly completing the masterpiece set before you.

It can seem useless at times, but in those moments, I ask you to temporally put your project down, take off the wooden ring and see how far you have come. May this encourage you. Don’t worry about how big the task is or how much you have left to do, take it one stitch at a time and follow the map (or the One) that has been given.

For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago. ~Ephesians 2:10

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey, Spiritual Journey, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to True Character

  1. creative pixie says:

    So true

Leave a Reply

