Roots: Anchors

I’m amazed by a lot of things sand, snowflakes, diamonds, pearls, water and roots. Maybe it’ s the technical side of me, but they really amaze me. I’ve discovered I see the world through a different lens. I wonder how water is water, all the different properties of it and how it shouldn’t perform how it does. I stand amazed thinking that each snowflake has a different composition and so much more.

The next few blog post will be all about roots. I will let you see a little inside my crazy head of the questions that puzzle me and how roots fascinate me.

What sparked this crazy idea you may ask? It was my Thai neighbor.

I was walking by and saw them smacking the tree. Puzzled, I asked him “Why?” He replied “To make it stronger when real problems come.He then goes on to describe that when the tree faces troubles of strong wind or rain, it is ready because it is already been made strong. I’ve heard a similar story before, and wonder if there is any truth to it or not.

From the initial research, I didn’t find much. Eventually, I did find some people suggest that hitting trees with a bat/newspaper roll can often allow the tree to “produce fruit” (or blossoms) in response to stress. Others have suggested it may “stimulate the sap movement” or may “promote growth” by allowing the core of the trunk to grow (i.e. become stronger).

You may be thinking it is just “hear say” or “silly”, yet it sparked something within me.

It reminded me of Ephesians 6:13-14a from the ESV translation

“Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm Stand therefore….”

No matter what may come our way, we need to prepare ourselves for the battle that’s before us. If that is putting on our armor or getting a newspaper and smacking ourselves, we need to do what is necessary to make sure our roots are strongly rooted and rooted securely in Him alone.

Why you may ask? It’s because tree roots act as anchors to the part of the tree we can see. It is the core of the tree, its source of strength. Have you noticed when large storms come through, only a few trees are uprooted, but most will remain strong??

Roots anchor

Then I began to ponder the idea…what am I rooted in?

Am I rooted in Christ? Or something else all together?

Where do I truly find my strength?

 Am I just a branch on the tree trying to reach out to others and not fully rooting myself in Him?

Like this post? Read, Roots: Grow Toward Nutrients

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Amazements, My Journey, Roots, Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Roots: Anchors

  1. I LOVE this blog post. After recently delving into spiritual warfare at church it is so apparently critical that we need our roots deep and the armor secured. Thank you for your thoughts, you inspire me daily🙂

    • lizolson says:

      It is so true!

      We have a phrase here in Thailand
      ‘Once you put your armor on, never take it off.’

      We are in a constant battle and the second you loose focus or rest, you are vulnerable and exposed.

  2. Jacci says:

    Love that! I’m very fond of trees.

Leave a Reply

