Unexpected Fruit

I was blessed with a chance to re-visit the people I love in Phuket, Thailand. (I found a flight there for cheaper than the bus prices and knew I couldn’t pass up this opportunity.)
It has been over a year since I left, Phuket so I was eager to reunite with my Thai family. I knew the girls that worked with me would remember me; but there is one who really surprised me.
unexpected fruitWe tell all the teams that come through, “Relational ministry takes time. Judge the success of your time here not by what you see, but by doing what God calls you to do; obedience.” You rarely get to see the fruit of your labor with relational ministry.
On January 15th, I was blessed to see some fruit.
On my way to see my Thai momma, a woman called from her house (something that goes against Thai culture). I kept walking, thinking it wasn’t for me; then she calls out again, but louder. I stop and then begin to walk to her home.
With a BIG SMILE on her face, she begins to ask me where I have been and that she missed me. I really didn’t have many interactions with this woman, but occasionally as I was walking by to get a snack, I would stop and say “Hi!” or bring her back some snacks or medicine for her hurt leg. I got to pray for her a few times, but I probably only had 10 conversations (or less) with this woman.
I got to catch up with what has happened in the last year with her. I heard stories about her 2 sons, the latest on a Thai TV show and even how the infection in her leg has stopped and she is no longer in pain (it was always swollen, and she could never put any pressure on it. It was always infected and turning black) I replied, “Thank you Jesus. Thank you God. He is so good.”
It was a sweet reminder to me to keep on loving, especially when it is hard and you do not ‘see’ any fruit.
 
I encourage you to love and to obey what the Lord is calling you to do. You may or may not SEE what He is doing, but love regardless; for it is His love that transforms lives!

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey, Phuket, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Unexpected Fruit

  1. Jacci says:

    A great word!

  2. Janice Atkin says:

    Liz, what a blessing!!!!!!!!!! Thank you God for encouraging Liz, it must be somewhat difficult to not know whether what you are doing is leaving an impact. Because God is faithful we can always be reassured that He will use what we do to bring honor and glory to our wonderful Lord and Savior. Keep up God’s work Liz, you are truly an encouragement. Love ya

  3. Tony says:

    I had a dream, 08/14/2012, of a completely dry field that I was hoeing . As one would guess, nothing grows without water. However, in the dream that is exactly what I was doing, hoeing a dry field that produced absolutely nothing but dust because there was no water. I do not know for how long in the dream that I was doing this it could have been for some time. I remember walking into a corner of the field one day and removing a stone. When I did water came out and it filled the dry furrows that I had been hoeing. Had I not been faithful and obedient in hoeing a dry,hopeless,and lifeless garden I would have never stumbled upon the underground water source.
    This was a timely dream because this would describe what I am going through as a believer currently. But I know that if I do not grow weary, I will reap a harvest.
    Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. (Gal 6:9 NIV)
    Also I noted in this dream that the source of water was not rain from above but water from within the earth. Jesus said, “He who believes on Me, as the Scripture has said, “Out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water.”
    (Joh 7:38 MKJV)

Leave a Reply

