A Defender of People

The other day I was sitting in my office and I overheard another foreigner speaking poorly about some Thai people. The mama bear inside of me just could not hear what this person was saying, and I had to say something.

I was able to share the Thai’s perspective and give this person insight as to why the Thai responded as they did.

Afterwards, I noticed two things. One, it’s very important to learn about a people group and culture before entering in and doing ministry. Two, I am really passionate about the Thai people.

It was extremely uncomfortable to sit in that room for 5 minutes, hearing example after example of how they were not respecting and loving the Thai people well. I had to defend them. There was no one else in the room to do so, and I needed to speak up.

I needed to speak up for two reasons, for the Thai people who couldn’t speak up for themselves AND for the one who was serving and breaking many cultural norms. This person still has a few more days left in Thailand, and they will continue to go out and serve. Maybe with a newer perspective, they’re more equipped to serve better.

speak up

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Chiang Mai, Spiritual Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Defender of People

  1. Alex Reiley says:

    Way to go Liz….

  2. Carol says:

    Well said my friend. think of you often! Love you!

    • lizolson says:

      Thanks Miss Carol! I love you and think of you often too!! I pray all us well with you and your family! You’re a gift to me and to so many others! Continue to love and invest well!

  3. Janice Atkin says:

    Good job Liz, it is so sad that many would not have had the courage or guts to stand up like you did. I have an idea that Jesus might have been smiling and saying “Way to go girl”. I hope you never loose the compassion for the Thai people!!!!!!!!!!! Love you

    • lizolson says:

      Thank for the encouragement! I almost left the room because I just could not hear it anymore, but i knew that was not the right thing to do!

      The Thai people are so beautiful and sweet. It is an honor to get to know them and serve them!

  4. ndpark says:

    wow, that’s awesome! great job, liz!

Leave a Reply

