Don’t break your bow

“You will break the bow if you keep it always bent.” 

-Ancient Greek motto

I always thought it was much better to be constantly working. If you know me, one of the hardest things for me to do is nothing. Yet I found that I need to rest more often otherwise, I will only be hurting myself more in the long run.

My week in the village as a translator was really good for me for a few reasons. I discovered that it was fairly simple to translate (Yay! My studying is paying off!) and that I could work hard and then really sit and enjoy life with those around me.

Most days, we woke up early, at with our house parents and then went out and did some manual labor. Then we had the afternoons ‘off’. I had some time for myself, which was nice and I also had some time to spend with my house parents.  We would sit and chat about life and sometimes I found myself teaching English or helping out in whatever activity they were engaged in. It was not a full paced lifestyle, but one that seemed to be beneficial for them and even myself.

In the evenings, the teams would meet together and have team time and I would simply ‘be’ with my family. When the teams came back, I really enjoyed the time to get to know the 2 team members that I was housed with. We shared stories and created a lot of fun memories.

Overall, it was a great reminder to me that slowing down isn’t a waste of time.  If you are intentional with it, you can make a lasting difference in their life and even my own. 

making kanoms

Making Thai Snacks with our village parents.

Lauren 'hanging out' with dad

Lauren ‘hanging out’ with dad.

The rice fields were so beautiful!

The rice fields were so beautiful!

 

 

 

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Chiang Mai, Spiritual Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Don’t break your bow

  1. Naomi Frazier says:

    This sounds very wise! I’m glad you’re fin
    ding ways to recharge!

  2. Sandy Foster says:

    Wow Liz, sounds like a great adventure to me. Sometimes it is best to pace yourself and not wear yourself out. Sounds like you health is doing good too! I’m so happy for you. You are so amazing how you connect to people where ever you are. God has given you so many gifts and you have the desire to use them for Him. Have you met any guy that interests you!?
    Bruce’s daughter Sarah got married a few weeks ago, She and her new husband, CJ, are very happy, so fun to see them together.
    We are still house hunting, might have found one, just see what God has planned. I loved it the first time we saw it, but this morning I have buyers remorse for some reason. Just want it over with.
    Always have you in our heart Liz and prayers. God is blessing you mightly!
    Love you Foster family

    • lizolson says:

      My health has been better overall.

      There haven’t been any guys (that I’ve seen) cross my path, but that’s ok. One day it’ll happen, and if not, i will continue to keep serving Him with everything that I have (with or without a mate)

      I think and pray for you guys often. You’ll find a new house and it will be just perfect for the two of you! You don’t have to fear, the decision is already made. You just get to discover what it’ll be. It’s like Christmas time! You don’t have to fear a gift that’s given to you! Enjoy it!😉

  3. Carol says:

    Good advice dear friend! Bless you!

  4. Jacci says:

    So glad you are learning to pace yourself!

  5. Alys Seay says:

    Ahhh, I love the village:) So true about resting and slowing down. Thanks for your steadiness in posting blogs. Make sure to send my love to everyone!! And much love to you as well:)

  6. Janice Atkin says:

    Dear Liz, I’m so sure that it is God who is encouraging you to rest and slow down. He knows exactly what we need, I’m so proud of you being willing to comply. It must be hard to slow down, I wouldn’t know as I have never been the go-getter like you. I might have missed whether you have been able to get the bike or not so could you let me know? I’m also curious (if you don’t have one yet) as to the reason you don’t have one yet. I hope and pray you are doing well health wise. Lots of love and prayers my friend Jan

    • lizolson says:

      I love the village too! I got to see a picture of your team there! They had alot of fun showing off all of their team pictures to me!

    • lizolson says:

      I have been renting a motorbike for almost 3 months now. It has been cheaper to rent (for now) as I am looking for one to buy permanently for myself.

      It is hard for me to slow down, but it has been what I need. It has been a good lesson for me to learn.

      • Janice Atkin says:

        What do the bikes cost? Would it help if I added 50.00 more a month. If so how many months might that take? I hope that it is alright for me to talk about this over facebook. If not please let me know. Maybe I should be using snail mail. If so let me know your address.

      • lizolson says:

        A new bike is about $1,000 but i think i have made a connection with some people near me and they are willing to sell me a used bike for a fair price. It should only be a few hundred dollars.

      • Janice Atkin says:

        Liz, You know how difficult it is for me to figure computers etc out. So could you E-Mail me or write me on how I need to send the extra 50.00 a month by using the account we set up for you? My address is 3605 E. Golden Valley Rd Reno Nv. 89506. If there is a better way, like if it is only 200.00 I could do that all at once, even 300.00. Just let me know what and how. God knows exactly what needs to happen!!!!!!!!!! I’m so very happy you might not have to pay rent SOON. Love ya

  7. I hear ya. Rest for sure!! We do need it. Loved your post and that last picture was perfect!!!

Leave a Reply

