I want to ___

I haven’t written in a few weeks, because I didn’t really know what I was doing. I was trying to figure out why I was here and if I was really making a difference. I lost sight of what I wanted and where I was going. If it wasn’t for my community back home and the words the team spoke to me, I probably would not have been able to stick it through.

I’m used to doing a lot. I don’t know what it is like to do nothing, and that is what this month has felt like to me. The previous month I was busy preparing for the teams that were coming, but once the teams arrived what was my role?

I talked and listened with the team members and met with the team leaders. That was it. But many told me this was their first month where they had someone that was available for them. To chat about what God is doing in them and concerns regarding ministry. They said they were extremely thankful for me and what I am doing here.

Then as I was writing an encouragement card, this verse stood out to me.

I want to know Christ and experience the mighty power that raised him from the dead.

I want to suffer with him, sharing in his death…

Philippians 3:10

I started thinking, what do I want to do? Deep deep down, what do I want to do? Who do I want to serve? How can I serve them effectively? Is it biblical or selfish?

I am still processing these questions, but it has been good to go to Him and allow Him to reveal (and re-reveal) these items to me.

I know God has called me to Chiang Mai, Thailand despite any difficulties that need to be overcome, I know I am suppose to be here.

 

Some other I want to’s in the bible:

John 9:36

The man answered, “Who is he, sir? I want to believe in him.

Romans 7:18-19

And I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. I want to do what is right, but I can’t.  I want to do what is good, but I don’t. I don’t want to do what is wrong, but I do it anyway.

1 Corinthians 9:22

When I am with those who are weak, I share their weakness, for I want to bring the weak to Christ. Yes, I try to find common ground with everyone, doing everything I can to save some.

 2 Corinthians 13:10

I am writing this to you before I come, hoping that I won’t need to deal severely with you when I do come. For I want to use the authority the Lord has given me to strengthen you, not to tear you down.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I want to ___

  1. Bonnie says:

    Thanks for sharing your heart with us, and I will continue to lift you up in prayer.
    ~In His Love, Bonnie

  2. Sandy Foster says:

    Good Morning Liz
    You are so amazing. I’m so glad that you have the desire to please God and wait on Him at all costs. It is so true that He does His best work in us when we are still and focused on Him.
    We have been talking, thinking and praying for you our Liz. I see little reminders of you here at our home, and it makes me smile. You will always leave fond memories where ever you go, because you have such a wonderful heart and such a kindness for others,
    Love you and miss your little smiling face
    Your “foster” family

    • lizolson says:

      🙂 aww you’ve made me blush… I’m glad you see little hints of Teacher Lip around your house!

      I miss my foster family! I pray for you often!

      Thanks for praying for me and supporting me through the highs and lows!

  3. Alex Reiley says:

    Liz,
    I know this mission has been difficult and much different from the last time you were in Thailand. That has been heavy on my heart because I could tell you were feeling a bit lost. I’m so proud of you for staying strong, seeking God, struggling through the difficulties and staying positive. I’m so happy to hear that you know you are supposed to be there. My prayer is that he will continue to reveal more and more to you about what you are supposed to be doing and learning for His glory and purpose and that will encourage and spur you on. No matter what, we love you and are here (there) for you. Wish I could remember the verse but I recently was reading about how God is still working and preparing us even when things seem mundane.
    Love you !!
    Alex
    As always, please let us know if there is anything you need.

  4. jacciturner says:

    Praying!

    Sent from my iPhone

  5. Alys Seay says:

    Soooo good. I love the verses. And I believe, too, that you are supposed to be there. I admire your perseverance and your pursuit of our sweet Savior. So much love to you!

  6. Janice Atkin says:

    Dear Liz, You are such a trooper!!!!!!!!!!! It would be so wonderful if God would send us a video letting us know how and if we are serving Him well and what exactly He wants us to do. That is because I am lazy and would like to know without having to seek wisdom. I’m sure if all were known there would be many of us who are wondering if we are fulfilling God’s plan for our life. All I know is you are truly a sweet soul who so desires to please God that I’m sure others recognize the gifts you have. I will continue to pray for you and hope you will feel God’s pleasure in who you are. Lots of love and prayers sweet lady!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Sarah Devaney says:

    Ah! The ol’ lesson God takes us through of being vs doing. Those verses are great, encouraging and surround yourself with them. Remember the Sermon on the Mount and what Jesus says, many DID great things in His name but He never knew them. The greatest thing you can DO for God is to know Him and He takes us through seasons to remind us of that because He is so gracious and loving. Praying for you,
    Sarah

    • lizolson says:

      Ahhh so good and so true! Thanks for the reminder!

      It reminds me if Acts 1:8
      You will BE my witnesses, TELLING people about me everywhere.

      Thanks for praying for me! I still pray for IVCF. I’m praying for fall conference right now!

Leave a Reply

