How many times does it take to believe?

I have been living in Chiang Mai now for a few weeks and there has been one phrase that is repeated to me “You speak Thai well” and each time my response is “No, just a little bit”.

you speak thai wellI went to Thai church on Sunday and got the chance to speak to my teacher’s parents. They later went home and said to my teacher “Why are you teaching her? She already knows Thai! She doesn’t pause to think about what she is trying to say, she is so good!”

Even while my teacher is sharing this to me, I somehow was thinking that can’t be true. It wasn’t until I was walking out to get some dinner (and was told I spoke Thai well another 3 times) that I thought, maybe it is true.

Maybe I have put too high of a standard for myself. If I compare myself to a native, I will never measure up. My teacher pointed out to me that Thai is not my mother tongue and that is ok. There are some things I may never know or understand about this language, no matter how hard I try to master it.

On that same walk I began to think about my journey in Christ. How many times do I have to hear “He loves me” to truly believe it to be true in my life? How many times do I have to hear “You are beautiful” to truly believe that I am beautiful?

We all have a past and it has shaped us to be where we are today. Some things that may be easy for you to believe may be difficult for others, because of where we come from. I am continually learning that what I do does not define who I am. I do love to strive for greatness, and I think it is a good thing, but I also have to stop and appreciate where I have come from.

What is hard for you to truly believe?

I encourage you to encourage and to speak words of life over people. It may just be the time where they stop and for the first time truly believe it about themselves.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Chiang Mai, My Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to How many times does it take to believe?

  1. Jacci says:

    Beautiful!

  2. Sandy Foster says:

    Good Morning Liz
    You are so wise is what you said! How many times do we have to hear that God loves us right where we are to truly believe it. What a great analogy! Are you just loving the apartment!! It sure looks wonderful.
    Miss you
    Sandy and Bruce

    • lizolson says:

      Thanks sandy! I’m enjoying my apartment so far! I’m slowing getting things in order for my apartment. I still have a chair, cleaning supplies, a fan and a printer to buy; but those can come in time. (It hard to do a shopping spree without transportation-I generally go any buy what I can carry and walk home)

      Getting a motorbike is my next big thing to do!

  3. Alys Seay says:

    Hmmmmm. So good. And He has so much patience with us. Thanks:)

  4. Was going to answer that question/challenge in a comment..but need more time to press into that first, good one.🙂 KUN SAH-WAI-EE! Hopefully you understand, haha. Glad to hear you got into the apartment!

  5. Janice Atkin says:

    Dear Liz, As I was reading your comment I couldn’t help but think you are way to hard on yourself. I was so excited to hear how well you are doing with the language, even tho you don’t believe it. God is so awesome and He gave you the gift and you are being so obedient in following His leading. Praise Him and blessing to you wonderful woman. I too have difficulty believing God loves me just as I am. So I thank Him everytime He uses others to compliment me or thank me and continue to work on believing the truth. Lots of love to you Liz!!!!!!!!!

    • lizolson says:

      Thanks Janice! I am still learning and I may be a little too hard on myself. I’m learning to have grace with myself and reminding myself that good things take time for them to happen.

  6. Paul Morss says:

    Great reminder! I love hearing about how you are doing!🙂

Leave a Reply

