When God Says Go

When God says ‘go’, our job is very simple “Go”. We do not need to stop and question it. We do not need to analyze every details of it, He already has all of the details sorted out.

God clearly told me to go to Chiang Mai, Thailand. I have never been there before. I didn’t really know what I would be doing. I just knew that is where He wanted me.I always loved answering my supporter’s questions about what I was going to be doing in Thailand. I really don’t remember what I said, but what I do remember is their response to it. Many people have shared that I spoke with passion and confidence in this trip. WHAT? I’ve determined it was just the Lord speaking through me, because many times I feel clueless.

Even in my first week here, it was hard and frustrating. I am in a new city and trying to discover what it is the Lord has for me.

It wasn’t until yesterday that it all seemed to come together in one sweet little package.

EmmiI sat down with Emmi, the director of Lighthouse in Action. I first met her when she was visiting Phuket, and we just connected. And yesterday we met again and the connection just got stronger. We both got goose bumps the more we were talking and sharing. It seems like everything she desires, dreams and needs for Lighthouse is something I have done before or is a passion of mine.

Emmi has been alone trying to manage many different ministries (bar, slums, monk chat, X-life, a coffee shop and manage the Thai staff and visiting teams). Needless to say, that is a lot and I am amazed of how she has done it.

We talked about me partnering with Lighthouse in Action,

I could be …

  • Teaching English to bar girls, the coffee shop staff, or the Thai Police.
  • Teaching Thai to the visiting teams.
  • Training/mentoring the teams on Thai culture and the ministries with Lighthouse.
  • Helping with the social media/website (posting blogs written about Lighthouse).
  • Disciple women who come out of the bars.
  • Mentor the longer term intern team.

The possibilities are endless. In many ways, we get are in a pioneering season. There is a lot of work to be done and a grand vision before us. We are excited for what God is doing and how He brought us both together for this very specific time.  

We are going to sit down and make a schedule soon. We are going to take it slow, and one step at a time. The plan is still for me to study Thai in the morning and serve in the afternoon in whatever capacity that I can.

goSo I encourage you to GO when God says to go. It is so sweet to be in the place He has called you!

Where is He calling you today? Who is He calling you to serve? What is He calling you to do?

Feel free to comment below in where/who/what God is calling you to.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Chiang Mai, English Classes, My Journey, Spiritual Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to When God Says Go

  1. jacciturner says:

    What happened to language school?

    Sent from my iPhone

    • lizolson says:

      I will to Thai language school in the morning and partner with lighthouse in the afternoons.

      In order to study linguistics, I have to prove I’m fluent in Thai. So I’m studying Thai intensively while helping out where I can with lighthouse.

      Then once fluency is achieved I’ll pray if I’m suppose to get the masters in linguistic or go back into full time ministry elsewhere.

  2. Sylvia Peterson says:

    Miss Liz, God had prepared a place for you and you for a place! How precious a Lord we serve😀 . You are such an obedient child of the King and I look forward to what He has in store. Missing you already, but pray that perhaps we can come serve with you in some way at some time, if it is His will. Praying for you!

  3. Sandy Foster says:

    Oh Liz it is so good to hear your enthusiasm!!!!!! Glad to hear that you both want to take it slow, a step at a time, so you can hear God’s voice in the process. I am so proud of you and the wonderful young lady you are and how you have stepped out and followed God’s lead.
    We miss you
    Sandy and Bruce

  4. michellelucio says:

    I am so excited to hear this! Sounds like there are some amazing things in the works, Liz. Praying for both you and Emmi as you seek after what the Lord has for this season and the next!

Leave a Reply

