When you ‘get’, it’s better to receive

You are probably familiar with the phrase “It is better to give than receive” .

It’s 100% true. I love giving (I’ve even heard that I’m a ‘foolish giver’). I love seeing people in need (or not) light up when you give them a gift (small or big, it is not of importance). My theory, what I have isn’t mine in the first place so it is easier to give and bless others.

The other day, I was walking to the fresh market and walked through a car wash and asked the people working there “How are you?”. Most replied with “good or fine” but one jokingly replied “I’m hungry”.

fried bananas

Fried bananas in banana leaf ‘packaging’

I end up at the market, and get what I needed and also got some fried bananas. I walk back, and cut through the car wash again and gave them the bananas. They look at me oddly as if they were asking “Why is this white woman giving me food?” and I simply reply in Thai “You said you were hungry, so I got you some food.”

Their expressions were priceless! They first discovered that I can speak more than the 5 basic phrases in Thai and laughed, but my favorite was a friendship was born.

Now every time I venture to the market, I get them a snack. I deliver it, and now they have a snack to hand back!

It is silly, fun and one of the highlights in my day! I enjoy sitting with them, and getting to know about their day, their families and their dreams.

This morning I was munching on one of the snacks they gave me and said “This tastes so sweet”. I began to ponder why and came to the conclusion that things are ‘sweeter’ when you receive them from someone else than it is when you get it yourself.

I could have easily gotten the fruit they gave me on my own, but it wouldn’t have that story behind it. It wouldn’t be as sweet.

When I was working as an engineer, making large amounts of money; that money wasn’t as meaningful as to have someone believe in who I am and what I am doing.

So a big THANK YOU to everyone who has given to me! I am truly blessed because of you! May you keep on giving, because it only not only blesses you and the receiver, but it makes the world just that much sweeter!

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Chiang Mai, My Journey, Spiritual Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to When you ‘get’, it’s better to receive

  1. Paul says:

    You’re super awesome!! Great job spreading the Kingdom!🙂

  2. Awesome story. Grace and peace to you

  3. Janice Atkin says:

    Sweet Liz, my heart filled with joy as I read your blog. What a blessing you are and I know God must have an awful big smile as He watched you in action!!!!!!! May God continue to give you exactly what you need and always watch over you!!!!!! Love you gal, Jan

  4. jacciturner says:

    Great story Liz!

  5. Sandy Foster says:

    Hi Liz
    That is such a great story of a random act of kindness! Love it!
    I just found the Thailand elephant you put on the fridge, it just blended in I guess. It made me smile and it also brought a tear to my eye. You sure left a most positive place in our hearts Liz and we will forever have great memories of your stay with us.
    Praying for you apartment, it sounds perfect.
    Love you

    Sandy & Bruce toooo!!!!!

    • lizolson says:

      I’m glad you found the elephant! It did blend in and was meant to be found later🙂

      Thanks for praying for me, my future apartment and everything else!

  6. Love it!!🙂 LOVE the carwash employees, so glad you can keep loving them well.

Leave a Reply

