Stop and See the Tumbleweeds

To say that the last few weeks have been busy is by far an understatement! From the goodbye parties, endless amount of errands, downsizing my life into two bags and not to mention I was struggling to sleep.

tumbleweedYet when I was driving between two different errand locations, I saw a tumbleweed. I stopped to look at it and for a moment, the world seemed to stop with me to observe the life of a tumbleweed. Maybe it is because I am not from the desert, but I am amazed by this prickly bush that moves with the wind.

Prior to coming to Nevada, I had only seen the tumbleweed in the western movies. I thought they added them for a cool effect, not that they were actually real. I still remember when and where I saw my first tumbleweed (on Kietzke Lane near Red Robin in 2004).

When life gets super crazy (which is so easy to happen), it is really essential to slow down and change our perspective. That moment at the stoplight, watching that tumbleweed float by (and later to get destroyed by oncoming traffic) was so precious to me. I was able to see and appreciate the beauty that surrounds me for just a moment, and thank God for what He has made.

And for the rest of the day, I had peace. My errands and to do list were still a few miles long, but it was no longer as frantic and chaotic.

Know that it is possible to be still and to feel still in the midst of any storm you may be facing.

Be still, and know that I am God! Psalm 46:10a

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stop and See the Tumbleweeds

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Hey, I am currently in the midst of a big move myself. Any tips on packing down to 2 bags?

    • lizolson says:

      My biggest concern is keeping it in the weight limit. But I take alot of things out of the packaging. Too many boxes takes up alot of space. I use Ziploc bags. Also, try to give yourself some time. You may find that trying it a new way can get you more space.

  2. such a lovely story – a whole new take on stop and see the roses🙂 i’m the same way with prairie fields – not flowers or anything – just the stalks of wheat growing in the plains. great post!

Leave a Reply

