Finding My New Song

I love how songs have a way of summarizing seasons in my life.

I was at church on Sunday and the worship just ‘got to me’ in the most beautiful way.

The song “From the Inside Out” played and it brought be straight back to the moment where I made the decision to obediently go and serve the women in Thailand. Prior to this decision, I was scared, and did not have any desire to do this ministry. Yet, a team member shared with me of an image she saw; a sword. She said that every hurt in my life was sharpening this sword, and eventually I would be strong enough to pick of this sword and fight back. While hearing this song, I decided to embrace my sword of justice and praise, and to take a stand for justice.

That is how I arrived to Thailand.

Then once I was there, I ended up speaking many truths over the women I encountered. I would say “You are beautiful” “You are worthy” “You are smart” “You are perfect just the way you are” These women thought the worst about themselves and I was able to share who they really were.

This is when the song  “You Are More” was sung. It was the perfect song to describe my season in Thailand, speaking these words over these women.

This got me thinking, “What is my new song?

I am in another season of transition and I am praying about what is next.  I am curious to see what my next song will sound like. I know I don’t have to know right now what that may be, but I am open to the Lord and His movement and I am excited for whatever the melody may come my way.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

