Show them my love

malnurished kidBefore I left for the World Race in 2010, I was able to sit down with my grandma and talk about my trip. I shared of the types of ministries and people I could work with. I showed her a picture of some starving/malnourished children and in Africa. She was confused as she saw the picture. She thought  they were overfed (because of their bloated stomachs, due to malnutrition). I shared her that these children are luckily to get 1 meal a day.

This hit home to her. Then she understood a little more about the reason why I needed to go on this trip. Then she said one phrase that will forever remain with me:

“Show them my love.”

To think that was one of my last moments with my grandma, makes it extra meaningful.

What stood out to me was the fact the love needs to be a verb. To love well, it must be intentional, given and demonstrated.

I’ve been out of the country for the last 2.5 years to 7 countries and I pray that I was able to love the ways that she has loved me.  Furthermore, I pray I was able to love as Christ loves.

needle point

My grandma was very intentional and knew me well. Growing up, she taught me to bake, play games, do cross stitch and many more things. And it did not matter what we did, as long as we did it together.

She will forever have a place in my heart, and hopefully in the hearts of those I get the opportunity to love.


The Christmas before I left for the World Race, we were each given a necklace. Mine said: Granddaughter and hers Grandmother. I have not taken it off since that day. It is worn and you can barely read what was once engraved, but I will always know. It is a reminder to me of the great woman that she was and a reminder to show everyone her love.

granddaughter

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Show them my love

  1. Jacci says:

    Nice Liz, welcome home!

  2. Tony says:

    Sounds like you had a godly grandmother. Most people have no clue what children in these 3rd world countries experience every day. Excellent posting!

  3. george spaulding says:

    H, liz-happy new year! thanks for sharing this article! i’m sure your grandmother is proud, as i know Jesus is! praying for you! 2Corinthians 1:3

  4. This is beautiful. Beautiful woman she is! I hope all is well pookie!

Leave a Reply

