Bittersweet: Goodbye/Hello

Is this really happening? 15 more days. I am surprised that these words are even leaving my lips, even though I’ve been preparing for this for months.
The Thai staff have been acting differently recently. They are hugging me more, sit with me longer at lunch, give me small gifts (of cucumbers!) and resting their head on my shoulder. They do not ask me to stay anymore, we just know it is coming and are enjoying our last moments together.

2 cultures with 2 very different customs.

Two cultures with two very different customs.

It is all bittersweet. I have two homes….America and Thailand. I leave one to welcome another. I have family and friends in each which leaves me devastated, sad, crying and excited, hopeful and moments where you just want to already be there.

I know I will miss B’s burps, O’s crazy and loud comments, G holding my hand and laughing at me and my love for cucumbers, M’s quite but HILARIOUS personality,  Sophie’s crazy song selections on Youtube, Sharon’s spontaneous art inspirations and creations, Mark’s attempt to try and  get me to learn Cockney (Sandshoe=Thank you????), Amanda‘s corny jokes and many many more. This has become my home, no matter how crazy it may be, it has been my home for nearly 2 years.

I feel as if I will never be ‘ready’ for this, but I will continue to take each day as it comes.

P.S. To the Father’s reading this, Happy Father’s Day! In Thailand, it is the King’s birthday and therefore it is Father’s Day!

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey, Spiritual Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Bittersweet: Goodbye/Hello

  1. It has to be so difficult, yet, welcoming to know you are moving on to another phase of your life. I spent 2 weeks in Africa and didn’t want to leave! I pray God opens the doors to the path he wants you to travel! Amen!!!

    • lizolson says:

      Thank you! It is very hard to say the least! I am excited for the new phase to begin, but not looking forward to the reality that the current phase will end.

  2. Yarei says:

    Hola Liz! Sad to hear that you will be leaving Thailand but excited that the Lord is opening up new doors for you! Where will you be in the States? Would be nice to hear and see all the wonder of Thailand!

    Yarei

    • lizolson says:

      I will be in Northern California and Nevada for most of my time, but I hope to visit some others around the country (assuming transportation and finances work out)

      It would be cool to meet up with you and your FAMILY if possible!

      • Yarei says:

        Wonderful! yes…I would love for you to see us all! 😉 I live in FL…. but let’s see how all pans out. Our paths may just cross! Cherish your last weeks in Thailand…but know that HE may open up doors for you to return one day!

      • lizolson says:

        I am cherishing every moment here. I will be back to Thailand in July, but in the North.

        I am hoping to make it out to the South for a little bit, so we might just be able to reunite!

  3. Jacci says:

    Sad endings, new beginnings!

    • lizolson says:

      Totally!!

      I am excited for you to have completed your first book series Jacci! Looks like there’s some new beginnings coming your way too!! See you soon!

  4. Julia says:

    I’m excited for your next season while aching for you in leaving…I know it’s hard on so many levels. Enjoy your final weeks. 🙂

  5. Caley Sue says:

    Praying for you liz as you enter into this transition! Excited to hear the next BIG things God’s beckoning you to in the next new season! You are loved friend! Thanks for serving so well! HUGS!!!

  6. Megan says:

    LIz, I know the Lord has amazing plans to use your gifts & passions He has placed inside of you wherever you go!🙂 miss you & Thailand!! *Megan* (Y squad)

Leave a Reply

