An Unexpected Vacation

I was blessed with the chance to get away to a small beach not too far away from here. It was great to get away, turn off my brain from the everyday stuff to rest and be restored.

While I was there, I discovered I do not know how to be a ‘normal tourist’. I tried not speaking any Thai, and that worked for …. 30 seconds. On the first day we went to the beach. We each bought a chair and sat and watched the ocean. Then there was a vendor that came walking buy asking if we wanted a dress. I replied ‘ไม่เอาค่ะ mai aow ka-no thank you’…and that was all it took.

We began talking about her job, her family, where she lives, her dreams, America and SNOW and much much more. It was awesome, I loved it.

I don’t naturally enjoy much time at the beach, so I went for a walk. I met some sweet ladies who gave massages on the beach. I later found some fruit vendors, taxi drivers, mechanics and people all around this small town. I taught some of them English, sat and enjoyed a meal/snack, and enjoyed a cold drink with a family.

What stood out to me the most was a comment they would say: “You sound like a Thai”. They would ask how long I have been here and they were shocked that it was a little under 2 years. Everywhere I went, I would hear this comment in one way or another.

In this time of transition, there have been some ‘doubts’ beginning to creep in my mind. Do I really have a gift of languages? Is this really where I am suppose to be/doing? Did I get it wrong? Etc….

With this trip, God was able to say “Yes, Sweetie. This is a gift I have given you. Trust me. Believe me. I am going to use you for greater things with this gift. Continue to use what I’ve given you.”

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Unexpected Vacation

  1. Catherine says:

    This is great Liz! Whenever God reveals something to us – it must be questioned and confirmed – by Him. I love that he did this for you! Don’t forget that this next season is orchestrated by God.

  2. Jordan Drake says:

    I am glad that you are accepting and gaining confidence in this amazing gift God has given you.

Leave a Reply

