3 Years of Weddings, Babies & Deaths

It is clicking in more and more, that I am leaving. I seem to be noticing more of the recent changes that have been occurring in the States. Weddings, babies, new couples, separated couples, deaths, new habits, and the list goes on and on.

Normally when these events happen, I look at the pictures and think it is pretty, but I rarely really really wish I could have been there. On Sunday, a close friend got married and it really shook me up inside. Not only did I want to be there, I wish I could be with her.

I see pictures of my friend’s children (yes, plural). It is insane how much time has passed since being overseas!  I am sure I could count  30+ weddings, 20+ babies and about 10 deaths over the years. Most of the time, it would not affect me too much. I kept my focus and my attention on the relationships and ministry of where I was at. But now as I prepare mentally to go back, I am allowing it to come into my radar a little more, and there is a lot of information to take in.

I know going back will be different. I expect it to be different. I look forward to being reunited with friends, family and supporters. I am sure I will enjoy a few familiar meals (rice free! Chicken feet free!) But I also know there are many things that will be different-buying food/clothes, transportation, language, housing accommodation, etc…

Last night I went for a walk. I put in the IPod my friend (who just got married gave me). I had the playlist she made me on shuffle. I went and bought all the junk food I could imagine at 7-Eleven (it was less than $3, I was surprised). I splurged and bought 2 mangoes ($2) and then a song came on and I sat on the sidewalk alone and cried.

In a way I am thankful that I am starting to process it now and not all at once when I arrive in the States. But it is a hard place. The Thai staff know that I am leaving and they are sad about the news. They keep asking, “Who will teach us English when you leave? Why not go home for Christmas and come back? We will miss you too much. Etc…”

Less than 40 days, I’ll be on American soil about to begin the next adventure. Change is here.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 3 Years of Weddings, Babies & Deaths

  1. How long have you been in Thailand? I am sure you are going to have such a culture shock living back in the United States. I pray God helps you transition smoothly.

    • lizolson says:

      I’ve been in Thailand for 2 years, but out of the country for almost 3, Thanks for praying! I will be returning to Thailand after 6 months of being in the States.

  2. Jacci says:

    Three years went by sooo fast! JT

  3. Julia says:

    It’s amazing to see how life has gone on (and how many things are still very similar). Definitely good to start processing now though. 🙂

    • lizolson says:

      Thanks Julia! I hope your time in the States has been nothing but encouraging and great! Enjoy your time with your family, friends and church family! Happy Thanksgiving! We a doing a mini feast here and the Thai ladies were asking what was on the menu. They gave us many weird faces, but my favorite was ‘You eat bread by itself? Why? That is weird!” Enjoy a roll or two for me!

Leave a Reply

