Ahhh…so fast, I can’t think!

I’ve discovered something about myself in the last few weeks. When life races quickly around me, I do everything that I can to just get through that day. I’m in a constant state of transition right now, and I think my body is in some kind of shock.  When I am in this state, I do not process much and apparently do not write about the journey, as I am still trying to figure it all out.

We just got done moving out of one of our two buildings and condensed it into one (this included my room). Furthermore, I will begin to teach the local government officials this week. I have been busy lesson planning, only to have the printer break. So I will go with what I have and hope for the best.

Additionally, I will be moving back to the States in 6 weeks! This means I have 6 short weeks to wrap up the work I am doing to make it as complete as possible to pass on to the next person! This also means in 6 short weeks I will be back on American soil. I will be home for Christmas, which excites me and terrifies me at the same time.

With me being gone for 2 years means there have been some changes, it is normal and expected. Yet most of these I will experience in a single moment and can be overwhelming. There most likely will be one less person present at Christmas this year. They will be with Jesus. Another I am told will most likely not know who I am. Change.

Right now I am doing everything I can to best prepare myself and help ease the load for next month. Next month I know my emotions will play more of a part and make it hard to focus and try and end well (saying goodbyes, packing,  goodbye gifts, moving to the States, etc…). I’ve started writing my Thanksgiving and Christmas cards, and as many little things that I can before it all hits in a few short weeks.

 

Are you in place where everything is changing? I read this article and found it really helpful!

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ahhh…so fast, I can’t think!

  1. Wow, Liz, sounds like you have a lot of changes in a short amount of time. Whew, that’s tough! But I love that Jesus holds you and you hold to Him in the midst of these. I’ll be joining you in the Christmas celebrations where someone is absent from our dinner table this year. It’s very sad, but I’m comforted that we can always remember those who have gone ahead of us as we speak/write/think of their legacies. As you prepare to come back to the States, you’ll be in my prayers!

  2. Sylvia Peterson says:

    I love you, Liz and am excited for your return but know that leaving Thailand is also difficult (I’m sad I didn’t get to come visit/work with you there, though). But, as you know, it is written “I can do ALL things through Him who gives me strength” and you shall, my precious Sister. Because of your faith and obedience, God will move you with grace through this time and transition. Keep praying, stay strong, be blessed in the time remaining overseas and we will see you soon, Beautiful!!
    <3, Sylvia

    • lizolson says:

      Thank you so much! I will continue to take things one day at a time! I know I can do it through Him. Things are changing, and it is not a bad thing. I’m just doing all that I can to keep up! Forehead Kisses🙂

  3. Jacci says:

    That is a lot. And unless you wqnt to come home to the hospital I’d encourage you to take one day off a week. In fact it’s a command.😉

    • lizolson says:

      Ahhh… logically that seems like it could never happen, but for me, I know I need it. I am looking into getting a hotel one of these weekends just to get away and check out for a short while. Thanks Dr. Jacci!

  4. Sandy Foster says:

    Hi Liz
    I can’t even imagine what you are going through! Transition is such an unknown experience, but also it is so exciting to know that you are following what God has planned for you !
    Just talking with Chris a few moments ago, this is in the talking-planning stages. But the teaching team is thinking about asking any global partners who are here to be a part of Sunday service on 12/30. So if you are going to be in town and are interested just let me know and I will let them know.
    We are so looking forward to sharing a good amount of time with you and seeing what God has in store!
    Romans 15:13
    Love you
    Sandy

    • lizolson says:

      I look forward to spending some time with you as well! Keep me posted on what develops with the Global Partner Sunday thing. Blessings!  พระเจ้ารักคุณมาก

Leave a Reply

