Memorize & be Mesmerized

I heard a song that was popular about 14 years ago and I was so surprised to see that I was singing along! I didn’t have to think about it at all, it just came to me.

Then I began to think: What am I feeding myself? If I can remember this song years later, what am I choosing to feed my body today that will last a lifetime? Do I choose to fill it with junk or stuff that is nourishing and life giving?

I think many have forgotten the power and the importance of memorizing the scriptures. I’m not sure why, but every time I have chosen to memorize scripture it has been an incredible journey.

I can look back to the times where I was studying chapters of the bible and I remember so clearly the moments God was speaking to me, taking me on a journey and revealing so much to me.

Just like this song took me back to when I was a teenager, the scriptures take me back to different parts of my spiritual journey.

Romans 8the first chapter I ever memorized in 2001 with my mom. It was fun having a buddy to do this with. It turned into a mini competition (as we are both really competitive people). On long drives to soccer tournaments, we would be reciting Romans 8 out load back and forth.

James 1 in 2006, this chapter really changed so much. ‘When troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy!’ Yes, learning how to seek God through the troubles and grow stronger in Him even though I am weak.

Philippians 2– (2007)  Who is Christ? What did he really do for me? This was an incredible journey of really discovering more and more of who Jesus is to me and what he truly has sacrificed for me to be with Him.

1 Peter 2-( 2007)- I am a chosen person, a holy priest…God’s very own possession! Yes! It was a beautiful time of the Lord claiming me as His own. He continually showed me more and more of who I am and who He has called me to be. And in order for me to know me, I needed to know Him more (vs. 22-25)

Galatians 1(2008) Remaining true to God and his commandments, no matter what others may think, say or do. I am to speak of His great news with passion, truth and not twist it in any way. ‘Obviously, I’m not trying to win the approval of people, but of God. If pleasing people were my goal, I would not be Christ’s servant. (vs 10)’  Paul continues to write about our identity in the lord and how He has ‘called me by his marvelous grace.’

Romans 12(2008) I remember quickly memorizing the first two paragraphs of this chapter then came to a screeching halt when it came to the section on the spiritual gifts. This didn’t make any sense, as the sentence structure was easier and it should have come easily. So I fasted and prayed. Then during the Super Bowl, I went down in a room to pray (and get away from the distractions of people, the game and the food). My co-leader found me and prayed with me. She then shared that she had an image of glowing hands, which I also got. We found out that God was giving me a new gift, healing. Then as we continued praying, I recited verses about spiritual gifts perfectly.

Then, I really learned how to love people in the way that they need to be loved. It was a time to learn how to ‘be happy with those who are happy and weep with those who weep.’

And finally, the last verse has stuck with me: ‘don’t let evil conquer you but conquer evil by doing good.’

I find when I memorize the bible, I am able to connect with it on a deeper level. I am able to see things, I normally would have missed. It comes to life for me, and I learn so much about me, God and other principles He is revealing to me.

Have you tried memorizing verses, chapters or verses of the bible? What was your experience like? I would love to hear about them below!

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Bible, My Journey, Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memorize & be Mesmerized

  1. Monica says:

    Loved this, LB! Great to hear about your journey🙂

Leave a Reply

