Cherrie came and toured SHE and reported what she felt, experienced and thought of the work we are doing in Phuket.

Jetset Times

BY CHERRIE CHEN

On my transfer flight from Bangkok to Phuket, I, in one of those sleep-deprived deliriums, asked myself what sorts of trouble and adventures I would be getting myself into this time. I was traveling alone and only knew one person in the entire country. My little game of “worst-scenario possible” ended when my two neighbors noticed and laughed at me, drifting in and out of sleep, and told me to keep awake for the landing because the descent was not to be missed. Phuket, for them, was their veteran vacation spot, and they said that watching the plane land was one of their favorite parts. As I took their advice and stared out my window, I understood why this province and city continues to attract scores of tourists each year: it is gorgeous. Nonetheless, I knew that its natural beauty aside, something else rather disturbing also attracts…

View original post 706 more words

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

