ESL Bloopers: Why L ≠ R

Teaching English in Thailand has certainly been an adventure! One of the hardest things my students have is the difference between ‘L’ an ‘R’. Due to this problem, I had to learn how to teach the difference. I studied all about the placement of the tongue and how the mouth moves to pronounce certain letters.

For ‘L’ you have to stick your tongue out first, and then pull it back in; whereas, for ‘R’ you do not stick your tongue out, but start with your lips together, like you are getting ready to kiss.

In the process of learning this, some words come out different. Here are some of them:

L

R

Examples I’ve heard

Lice

Rice

I want some lice, please.

Glass

Grass

A grass of coffee.

Pleasure

Pressure

It’s my pressure.

Flog

Frog

I like flogs.

Flee

Free

Flee! Flee!

Play

Pray

I play to God each morning.

Flank

Frank

His name is Flank.

Election

Erection

Today there is an erection.

Light

Right

Turn light at the corner.

Belly

Berry

I like to eat bellies.

Lacey

Racy

My teacher is Racy.

Cloak

Croak

Flogs say ‘cloak cloak’.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve done the same. Learning a language is tricky. Read some of my stories here.

Do you have any stories where a single letter was switched out and it changed the context drastically? Please share them below.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in English Classes, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

