Will it ever end?

Yesterday our cook asked to move into the SHE center with her daughter because she was beaten up by her boyfriend. Though she has never had to work in the bars, it does not mean she is entirely safe.

Here it is far too common to have women be abused by Thai men. Most, if not all, of the women at the center return home to an abusive relationship. Women are not honored or treated with care here and it saddens my heart.

I want these women to know how beautiful, important and worthy of love they are. They can experience all of that here at SHE, but as soon as they return home, they are back in ‘reality’, back in their everyday hell.

Men abusing women…. Men abusing children….it disgusts me….it angers me….it makes me want to run to them and just hold them and smother them with love.

I was walking out to get lunch and I pass our cook. She had tears in her eyes and her eyes were very red. I stopped, asked her to come to me, she didn’t; so I went to her and gave her a hug. At first she just stood there, then I put her head on my shoulder and she wept. I held her in my arms and prayed over her silently.

Of all of our Thai staff, I think I have the closest relationship with her. Just this past weekend, she was sharing how much she loved and trusted me and how she hated seeing me so sick. I feel the same way towards her, and now with her in such a bad place, my heart hurts for her.

I find some relief knowing that she has a safe place here where she can stay, for now.

Pray:

Pray for safety; healing and that through all of this, she would experience the love of God and accept Him as her personal Savior.

Pray for her boyfriend. Pray the Lord would bring him to himself and realize the wrong he has done. Pray that the jealousy he had would be released.

Pray for the cook’s daughter. She just moved in back with her mother (she was living in Bangkok) and now has just moved in to the SHE center.

We now have 4 Thai women living at SHE and that has certainly changed the dynamics. Some have come to escape an abusive relationship, another choosing to come out of the bars and the last is to prevent her from having to work in the bars. We continue to ask for healing as they all have something in their past (or current) that needs to be removed and allowed time to process and heal.

Want more? Here is another story of 2 more staff member at SHE being abused at home. Read the blog How and I to respond?” 

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in SHE, Thailand, True Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Will it ever end?

  1. Tony says:

    May the Lord give these young women a sense of self worth and a realization that they do not deserve to be punching bags for abusive men.

  2. monica says:

    You are called to love them right where they are and you, my friend, are doing just that. Keep loving on them and being the hands of Jesus. You are a light in a dark dark place.

  3. Alex Reiley says:

    Liz, you and the women you are seeking to touch are in my thoughts and prayers. The compassion you have and the work you are doing is a light shining brightly. I pray for strength for you to endure through the disgust and anger you feel. That satan’s hand that you must see would only increase your passion for the mission you are on and increase the blessings that will surely follow.

  4. Hey I hope you are staying well in all this. This can be such an emotional time for you and stress. I hope you are staying healthy. That is what these women need…so the moment you aren’t feeling healthy, take some time for yourself as well! I know there is so much going on and so much to keep all the hours of your day busy. The LORD does fill you more and more and more! you have so much to give! Loves ya!

Leave a Reply

