God is a hug

You know when you are down, desperate and totally relying on His strength? I will be honest and share I have been lonely recently. Though I can be surrounded by people, I do not have much of a relationship with them. I’ve been craving a hug so much recently.

A hug is so beautiful. You are able to show so much love when done well. I have had some hugs where I could have stayed in that moment for such a long time. it is a place where you can let it all go. You do not have to be strong enough for a moment. You can release and allow the other to simply hold you. They are supporting you in a way that is needed.

Then as I was studying some more Thai, it clicked that hug in Thai is pronounced ‘God’ (กอด). I am not making this up! Man it is so refreshing.

Though I may be lonely now, I do know that this is only a season. I also know that I am always surrounded by my Everlasting Father who cares about me so much! He knows me infinitely better than I even know myself. It is in this time that I will allow him to comfort me in ways that are more than the physical. I can allow myself to break and rely on His mighty strength. I can remain in His safe embrace and allow Him to hold me.

See what ‘Pity’ in Thai means here!

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to God is a hug

  1. Alexandria Reiley says:

    I love this !! Thanks Liz. I’m glad you found comfort in it and so did I.

  2. Wishing I could give you a hug…you’re such a loveable person!

  3. Sylvia Peterson says:

    Precious Liz, I am hugging you in a giant embrace of love and compassion right now. You may not be able to physically receive if, but feel it and wrap it around your heart and soul. (You know if I could get on a plane & deliver it personally, I’d be at the airport like yesterday!). You are so loved and thinking of you brings smiles and joy to me and I know to many others, as well. May you be renewed and refreshed, loved and lifted, peaceful and protected. Blessings, my beautiful Sister.❤

  4. Valerie says:

    Sending you a BIG hug!!!

  5. Catherine says:

    Sending hugs to you Lizzybear! Love you!

Leave a Reply

