Bar Crocheting

I apologize for not writing in so long. So much happened this week that I now have slowed down enough to process and write about it.

In sum, we had 3 new staff join us!! One is a receptionist (that we so desperately needed), another is a woman who told us she wanted to die but somehow God brought her here and the other decided that she could no longer work in prostitution! These stories are coming soon…..I promise.   (Read about Mimi and how she came out of prostitution here)

You may remember me begging you to join us in prayer for my friend Amy*. As you know, I walk by her bar 3 or 4 times a week after my English Classes are over. Last week, the situation was rough. You could feel the tension, it was thick and strong. I knew that I was not welcome there….so we prayed

Now, things have lifted.  I was walking by on my way home and a woman asked what was in my bag. I showed her it was a beanie that I was making. She grabs my stuff and she begins to crochet right there in the bar with me. She didn’t know the stitch I was doing, so I showed her. She then asked if I knew how to knit, and I replied that I didn’t but that I knew how to use a knitting board. She brightened up even more and said she always wanted to learn how to use that!

Then the bar mom/manager came over. Normally when I see this occur, I get ready to leave. She pulled out something from under the bar….I held my breath for what seemed like a minute and ….it was a crochet project that she had been working on!

I was welcomed at the bar with open arms and was able to crochet and share tricks right there at the bar. The girls asked for me to bring a different project each day to share!

Praise God! I now get to talk to 10-15 beautiful women each day after class and bond, laugh and share crocheting memories with each other. It has turned into the part of the day that I look forward to!

Please continue and join me in prayer. These women still are forced to drink alcohol, do drugs and sleep with men when they do not want to. Pray that they would seek help and be brave enough to make a change for themselves.

Praise God for the favor that was given to me at that bar. Praise Him for the joy I get to bring to these women every afternoon. Pray for our future conversations, interactions and whatever else the Lord puts on your heart to pray for.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Human Trafficking, My Journey, SHE, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bar Crocheting

  1. John Smith says:

    I love it!!

    • lizolson says:

      Thanks John! I love it too! I get to do two things I love, ministering to these women and crochet at the same time! It doesn’t get much better than this!

  2. george spaulding says:

    Hi, liz-wow! talk about an open door! God said to Moses in Exodus 3 “What is that in thine hand,” and He’s still doing that today, only with knitting needles! imagine! thank God for your heart and love for these ladies! praying for you! keep in touch!

    • lizolson says:

      It is an open door, one that took some time praying for God to open! Thank you for praying for me and for these women. God is moving, especially when we do not see Him!

  3. Lorri Bringle says:

    WOW, WOW, WOW!!! Power of Prayer! What a priviledge to see God’s work. Gave me “God-bumps”.

  4. Sandy Foster says:

    Our God is truly amazing. Who would have thought that a simple pleasure like crocheting would be a great evangelical tool!!! With God all things are possible. Thanks so much for sharing your great adventure and helping us see God in all things. His crazy love at work through and the many other missionaries around the world
    Always praying for you and your girls
    Love Sandy

    • lizolson says:

      I love how He uses something that I love to connect with Him (crocheting) as a way to share about Him to others. Just the other day on my bus ride home, it started such a beautiful conversation! It is an easy ice breaker that gives me the opportunity to talk with so many others and even pray for them on the bus!

Leave a Reply

