My ‘pity’ party

You know when you are already having a rough day and a series of events take place that make you snap in two?

Well I was having one of those days/weeks. The founders of the ministry when away to a wedding for half of the week, one staff member went home to have a surgery and another is house sitting for the week. That leaves the rest to me and my roommate, and we can sure feel it. Not only are we still doing our normal work load, we are trying to juggle everyone else’s too.

Then I went to class on Tuesday and one of my students really began to open up to me. She was very vulnerable, with tears in her eyes as she was burning herself out to have it not be enough. I love that these women are beginning to open up to be, it is a sign that the trust is there; yet it is hard to hear how these beautiful women are being abused. Many do not have anyone to share with, so I get the honor of being that person.

Furthermore, after a long morning on Thursday and 30 minutes before I head out to teach for 5 hours (computer and English classes), I discovered that there must have been a large surge of energy that fried my personal computer and TV. That meant that I could not take my laptop to teach the computer course that afternoon.

This was the straw that broke the camel’s back. I know in the long run it really is not a big issue and that they are just things, it was just the culmination of being tired, working hard and having the emotional hurt from what my students have been sharing with me.

But I had no time to break down as I had a full afternoon of teaching in store for me. Class was great that afternoon. I had a great day teaching but also connecting on a personal level with my student. As we were walking to her 3rd job, she held my hand the entire way (a sign of friendship). My heart was full of joy. Then as I was on the bus, a woman that I have seen many times before shared to everyone on the bus that ‘She is my friend. She is my friend.” She bought me some very overpriced peanuts and eventually I was able to sit down next to her and catch up with my friend. I tried to pay her back, but she said “I am your mom. You do not have to pay me.” Again, more joy filled my heart.

That night, since I had no computer, I had plenty of time just to get away and be with the Lord. It as beautiful. Then I found as I was learning some more Thai, that JOY is pronounced ‘pit dee’ which sounds pretty similar to ‘pity’. I reflected back to my time when I wanted to throw a pity party, and the lord threw a better one for me, one of joy.

Then we ended the night having communion with the team and it was sweet, innocent and unique as the bread was literally cut in the shape of little men.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in English Classes, Human Trafficking, My Journey, SHE, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My ‘pity’ party

  1. Praying for you & thinking about you! The Lord’s parties are always so much better than ours!😉 Gal
    6:9 Don’t lose heart! The Lord knows all of your hard work, love, and prayers.

  2. Lorri says:

    Liz, your transparency is beautiful and such a great example and inspiration to those who read it! It is awesome how you see the blessings through the trials. The enemy is always trying to stop the Lords work through discouragement and exhaustion, AND we KNOW, ultimately, the Lord has Victory! So, to add to the Galations 6:9 comment, in paraphrase, hold on and continue to do a good work ‘cause you WILL reap the harvest if you continue to hold on! Praying for you and with you in CHRIST! Love and Hugs, my eternal sister!

  3. Christy says:

    Luke 17:12-16 As he was going into a village, ten men who had leprosy met him. They stood at a distance and called out in a loud voice, “Jesus, Master, have PITY (be moved with compassion and compelled to give relief or aid) on us!” When he saw them (he was moved with pity/compassion and…), he said, “Go, show yourselves to the priests.” And as they went, they were cleansed. One of them, when he saw he was healed, came back, praising God (JOY) in a loud voice. He threw himself at Jesus’ feet and thanked him—and he was a Samaritan.
    Psalm 126:3 The Lord has done great things for us, and we are filled with JOY. When we have pity on ourselves, things get bleaker and more distorted. When God takes pity on us, it results in shouts of JOY and praises to His Name. As you’ve said Miss Liz, God’s pity quickly turns to pit ‘ dee. Be encouraged. You are a faithful, yielding instrument in the Master’s hands. Love you, Miss Christy (Chris Misty)

    • lizolson says:

      Chris Misty!! This is soooo good and such a great reminder! It makes me sad how when we say “pity party” it has lost the meaning of compassion but rather a ‘poor me’ situation.

      The scripture is spot on and exactly what I needed to hear!

      I love you too Miss Christy! ฉันรักคุณ

      Miss Liz

  4. Stephanie says:

    I love the end of your story! God is so faithful to us…

Leave a Reply

