Just a normal week…ha!

Normal and the mission field I think are words that never go hand in hand! Everyday seems like it is a new adventure! I looked back on this week and it just makes me smile and think “Did this really just happen?”

English Classes:

This week the attendance of my classes exploded! To help accommodate the drastic increase in attendance, I added another day of teaching! I’m now teaching Tuesday-Thursday for 2.5 hours each day. All of my students are at different levels, which is a challenge for sure, but a good one (I think)…

One of my new students shared with us saying “I know you are people with good hearts.” We asked her why “because you only charge 25 Baht (less than $1) for a class. I know you do not make any money. You are giving good gifts to us. Thank you.”

Translating:

Our main translator no longer works at SHE and now I have become the default Thai-English and English-Thai translator. This means I translate the morning devotions from English to Thai, building conversations between Mark and the builder, and even testimonies before people were baptized!

Baptisms:

On Tuesday, some of the members of the team wanted to get baptized. God rocked them to the core while they were here and 8 people got baptized, including one of our Thai Staff members. It was a beautiful day! The Thai woman said “I was sick before I met Jesus. Now I am made well and I owe everything to Him!”

Night Ministry:

Picture taken by Michelle Williams

A new team just recently joined us and I had the opportunity to go out and help them out on their first night! It sure made for a long day, but it was good in the end. I think I will be going out again tonight. I discovered that after going out at night, my attendance really blossoms. I think by them meeting the teacher in person makes it less intimidating.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in English Classes, Human Trafficking, My Journey, SHE, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just a normal week…ha!

  1. Jacci says:

    Great work Liz!

  2. Jordan says:

    Awesome Liz. I am still in awe at how quickly you learn languages. It does not surprise me that you would be the new translator. I thank God for your gifts!

    • lizolson says:

      I think I’m still in awe of how quick it happens! It’s amazing to see the lord work in and through me in so many ways that I can’t even begin to express!

  3. Lorri says:

    GREAT UPDATE! God is doing amazing things! I’m lifting you in prayer to have energy and peace as you are pulled in so many different directions. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Sandy Foster says:

    Whew! What a week. God is truly working in that country through His family. Liz absolutely amazing and I am so blessed to be able to walk along side of you in prayer to our Father as He brings you the strength and compassion to carry on this mission!!

  5. Amazing! Please tell the SHE workers hello for me. For some reason I have forgotten their names. I would love for you to remind me.

Leave a Reply

