Hope

I keep a lot of little treasures in my bible. They vary from a painting from a child in the Philippines, lyrics to worship songs in other languages, encouragement cards and even my hospital card from when I was sick in Africa.

Well there is one piece of paper I stumbled across this morning and it reigns really true. It was a letter/note written to a friend who was processing over the idea of a very close friend of theirs Henry* being sexually abused and trafficked.

Here is what it said:

I was asked to pick one work for Thailand yesterday and it was hope. Human Trafficking seems so hopeless where there is nothing to live for, full of darkness and hurt. Many times we feel we cannot do anything. But there is hope-I promise. It is what I cling to. I love those women so much and my heart breaks for them daily, like yours is for Henry*. Know that the best thing you can do Is pray. Keep on loving and perusing him and keep hoping. It is that hope that drives me to keep striving and running after them. One day, Human Trafficking will be no more. Believe it-it WILL happen.

We have the hope of Christ. It is something that I cling to as I continue to fight what can appear to be a never ending cycle of death and despair.

Zephaniah 3:17 The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing.

 

 

*Henry is not his real name to protect the person being abused.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Human Trafficking, My Journey, Spiritual Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hope

  1. Jacci says:

    You and me, we’re hope peddlers!

  2. I hope these things may change soon. We are with you through our prayers.

    • lizolson says:

      Thank you so much Jefferson! I pray that Human Trafficking is no more and I believe that one day, generations from now will not know what it is like cassette tapes for this generation!

Leave a Reply

