Sloppy wet kisses

Upon my return home, I was greeted by the Thai staff in the most beautiful way.

The woman that cleans the center was getting ready to start her day by getting her cleaning supplies. As she turned the corner, I walked towards her and said “Peek-a-boo” (Ja-A). She turns to see who was speaking to her and when she saw that it was me, she dropped everything in her hands to embrace me. She hugged me and kissed me more times in a moment that felt like a lifetime.

I wish I could have captured this moment on video or even in a picture. It was so beautiful to experience and I would love to replay it over and over again.

I am reminded of the story of the Prodigal Son (Luke 15:11-32). I imagine this is what he felt and experienced when His Father ran to him and embraced him. To feel his father’s embrace and I would imagine his sloppy wet kisses. To not want to leave that moment that felt like a lifetime. To feel love, grace and forgiveness. It is such a beautiful image, one that I think I understand a little fuller now.

And to think that this is what our Heavenly Father wants for us. He wants to continually soak us in His embrace, love and sloppy wet kisses. He wants every moment with Him to consume every part of us. He desires us to be so overwhelmed by love that it makes us stand in wonder as to how that can truly be.

And it is with this love that we receive from our Heavenly Father that it breaks all barriers.  This simple, yet profound word when lived out transforms lives. When we love beyond race, ethnic group, culture, traditions, gender, age and ourselves we are able to love as Jesus does.

So I challenge you to love. Love to the point that it hurts. Love when no one else is doing it. Love when you are not loved back. Love boldly. Love as Christ loves you. Freely give all that you have been given and I guarantee you that lives will be changed and that you too will be forever changed.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey, Spiritual Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sloppy wet kisses

  1. Alexandria Reiley says:

    Liz, I am so happy that you got such a wonderful welcome home reception. You bring happiness to the lives of many people. As usual you were able to use scripture and make a teaching out of your experience. Your insight and ability to put meaningful words to paper is much appreciated. Thank you for using your gifts to help us all in our walk of faith.
    Glad you are home safe and sound and I pray that you are refreshed are ready to get back to your role at She.
    Blessings,
    Alex

  2. Jordan Drake says:

    You are such a gifted writer and speaker Liz. Thank you for sharing your joyous occasion for us all to share. I am glad you received such a nice “welcome home”!

Leave a Reply

