Body is Sick-Spirit is Strong

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.  Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

While I was in Malaysia, I had a great opportunity to go out to some of the villages in the jungle and share about God’s goodness and encourage the believers there.

At one of the villages, I shared about how we as believers can respond to circumstances. Though we cannot control the circumstance that comes, we can always choose how we respond to it. We can be sad, depressed or even angry or we can choose to praise God for who He is.

Even when there is NOTHING in our life that is worth being thankful for, we can ALWAYS be thankful for God and who He is. He is good. He is merciful. He is BIG. He is a healer. He is a protector and provider. He is victorious. He is_______.

I shared the Philippians 4:6-7 with the village people and the time I had in Africa.

I talked about my time in Africa. When I was in Kenya in June 2010, I got sick, really really sick. I managed to get malaria (twice), typhoid, E-coli, 2 parasites in my stomach, 2 amoebas in my intestines, both the parasites and the amoebas literally ate away my stomach and intestines-creating holes, ulcers, and more….

Most of my time in Africa, I was in a bed. I was physically unable to do anything. I was unable to go out and help do door to door evangelism, nor could I help with the construction of the church; instead,  I remained in my bed (often times, my hospital bed). While there I choose to remain positive and pray. I had A LOT of time to pray and to thank God for how good He is.

From Phil 4, we see a few things. When we 1. Pray and 2. Thank God then we will receive God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand.

This is exactly what happened to me. Though I did not get many answers as to what was wrong with me (and that I was getting worse), I was in intense pain, and many  thought  that I wasn’t  going to make it. By remaining in God, I had this overwhelming sense of peace. I knew He was there with me every step of the way, and I trusted Him.

I was on bed rest for nearly a year (I was sent back to the States to recover). And it was in this time that I continued to pray. I didn’t just get a few hours of prayer in a day, it was my life. God spoke to me in many powerful ways.

After sharing this with the Malaysian village people, the pastor came up and shared. He said that my body was sick but my spirit was strong. I couldn’t have put it better myself.

I pray that no matter what  you may be going through today that your spirit remains strong. You have the power to control how you respond to any situation (finances, family, illnesses, career, relationships, etc…).

If you would like encouragement or prayer to help you get through your current storm, please leave a comment below (you can leave your e-mail if you want it to be sent to you-and not posted as another comment). I have been there and I know. It is not easy, but remaining in prayer and thankfulness was the key for me to having that perfect peace in the midst of the storm.

Songs that have helped: Praise you in the storm, Be Still, Be Still My Soul, Healer, I Need You More, I Need Thee Every Hour

Some of my blogs from being sick: ‘Urgent Update‘, ‘Thailand Praises‘, ‘Minister Wherever You Are-No Matter the Circumstances‘. ‘Reverse Culture Shock

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Malaysia, My Journey, Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Body is Sick-Spirit is Strong

  1. Sandy Foster says:

    Good Morning Liz
    You are such an amazing follower of our Lord. You inspire me! I got a prayer request from a lady that has visited our church, living in another town. She is so overwhelmed by her circumstances. Your blog couldn’t have come at a better time. I sent it to her with the hope that she is ready to praise and thank God for who he is. Many blessings to you and the work you are doing in His name.

Leave a Reply

