Perfect Rest

I know I have said this countless times, but I am just amazed by God and his goodness.

Last week I was blessed to be able to go to Malaysia. A team member of mine from the World Race blessed me by flying me out to visit him and serve with him in Malaysia. While there, I was able to help a beautiful couple with their restaurant, stay up all night interceding for the nation of Malaysia and go out and preach/encourage the small communities in the jungle.

It was my prayer that this would be a time of rest for me. And though I did not physically sleep that much, I was so rejuvenated! Being with someone from my world race was so good. Often times we didn’t even need to talk, we would just be with each other and serve alongside each other like we did 2 years ago. It was hard to describe, but it was like a small taste of home.

While there, the Holy Spirit was moving and speaking to me A LOT! He was giving me words to speak to people, letters & gifts to give others and so much more. I love that when we are open, He will use us in mighty and beautiful ways. YET, through all of this, I felt so honored and blessed in return. It is such a beautiful cycle.

The SMS I received after thanking my contact for being such a blessing to me.

There were a few moments where He would say “Give” and I would. Later I found myself adding up the numbers, and I found that I would have to tap into my ‘emergency money’ in order to have enough money to pay for the train to the airport. Well on thing lead to another and I never had the time to exchange the ‘emergency money’ because the people who run the restaurant wanted to take us out to a restaurant. We enjoyed nice coffee and desserts and as we were preparing to leave, I was given a very generous gift from them.

The Lord knew and had it all accounted for. I have not needed to touch my ‘emergency money’ yet (though there have been a few times where it was really really close).

The Lord is faithful, good and very generous. Do as he calls, no matter how crazy or insane it may seem at the time. Often times it doesn’t make any sense until later.

What is He calling you to do today? Is anything holding you back from walking into that calling?

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Malaysia and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Perfect Rest

  1. Michelle says:

    Loved waking up to this blog. Oh happy day. Proud of you!

  2. Alex Reiley says:

    I’m so happy you got to go on this trip. Does sound like you were busy but it can be refreshing to have a change of scenery and see a familiar face. Your faith is amazing and your journey encouraging. Thanks for all your posts.

    • lizolson says:

      Thank you Alex! It is wonderful to know I am supported and encouraged by people like you in the States. I literally could not do this and have these experiences without you! Swadee ka Liz

Leave a Reply

