A Growing Heart

My heart is growing. I did not even know it was this possible!

It is growing more and more in love for the Thai people!

I was in class this week, and I shared to my students that I was going on a visa run to Malaysia. This is something that is not new for my students, I do this every three months. But this time they were sad. They did not want me to leave and they made me promise them to hurry back. I reassured them that I was only going to miss one class, but I do not think it helped that much.

Later that evening, my student was on facebook and told me she was crying because she did not want me to leave. I begin to ask her some questions and she begins to tell me why she will be so sad. She said “I am happy when I go to English. There are 2 days where I am happy. I am happy on Tuesday and on Thursday’. The next class she continues to share that English Class is her family, and I could not agree more.

We are a family. We laugh, cry and celebrate together. We are there for each other in the dark times and love to hang out with each other.

I truly am in love with these women! I love seeing them grow in confidence in themselves and in their knowledge of English. I look forward to every Tuesday and Thursday because I get to be with my sisters, my family.

On my bus ride home, another beautiful moment occurred. Generally there are certain people you see frequently on the bus. We are both done with our days work, and we have begun to form a close relationship. This time, one of the women who sells aloe vera on the beach called my name ‘Miss Teacher’ and asks me to sit next to her. We start talking and we find out that we are both tired. Then she put her hand on my back, and I put my hand on her knee (a sign of friendship in Thailand). Then she fell asleep on my shoulder. My heart nearly melted! She trusts me enough to fall asleep on me.

I am so in love with these Thai women, it is crazy! I am amazed by these beautiful women and the love they have for me and I for them.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in English Classes, SHE, Thailand and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Growing Heart

  1. Sandy Foster says:

    Hi Liz
    You are an amazing woman of God! You inspire me to seek Him more so maybe someday I will see with His eyes and feel with His heart as you do!
    Love you my sister in Christ!
    Sandy Foster

    • lizolson says:

      Thank you so much Sandy! You are an incredible encouragement to me. This helps enable me to love these women. Thank you for your support, prayers and encouragement!

Leave a Reply

