Genesis 1

Thai Bible Comic Book

I have started an amazing journey through the book of Genesis as I have begun to translate a Thai Bible Comic book that I was given. Not only is this a good way for me to learn the Thai Christian words, I am able to dive into God’s word in a deep deep way.

The story starts in Genesis, and because I am slow at translating, I am able to go deep into the Word.

Through translating, I am able to see the scriptures in a new light. For example, instead of simply stating “He” to refer to God, they state “His Majesty” Wow! I think it can be easy to forget His greatness, but this has been such an eye opener for me.

One afternoon, I really just sat and read Genesis 1. I looked at what His Majesty created on each separate day, how His Majesty responded and who His Majesty called certain creations to do.

I discovered a few things:
1. He only ‘blesses’ 2 of his creations: Animals and Humans to “be fruitful and multiply”. He goes and blesses the humans further and gives them a blessing to fill the earth, govern it and reign over the fish, birds and animals.
2. His Majesty did not say at the end of Day 2, that “it was good”. The rest of the days He states “And God saw that it was good”, after he created. I thought this had to be a ‘mistake’ or a misprint in my bible. So I did some research. I looked at other translations, and it is no mistake.

So, was the second day not good?

In a way, you can say it is good, for at the end of Day 6 (Gen 1:31), God looked at all He created and said that it was good. But this was not enough for me.

The research continued and this is what I found…

Theory 1: God didn’t call the second day good, because He was sad. When He created the water above, He knew it was the method to destroy the Earth and that He would one day need to do.

Theory 2: His Majesty didn’t call the second day good because “waters” is a symbol for “people” (refer to Rev. 17:15 “The waters you saw… are peoples, and multitudes and nations…”). So to separate the waters above from the waters below would have been a picture of separating the people above from the people below. This would mean separating people into heaven from those into hell. This is clearly something God is not pleased to have to do as it states in 2 Peter 3:9 “The Lord is… not desiring that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance”.

Theory 2 makes the most sense to me, but I wanna hear from you.

What are your thoughts? Have you ever noticed this before? Was the 2nd day a ‘bad’?

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Bible, Genesis, Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

