Daddy…when I was a baby, was I pretty?

As I was walking from the bathroom and to a friend waiting for you, I heard a little girl say this to her dad:

“Daddy…when I was a baby, was I pretty?”

The dad responded “Of course honey.”

It is so true. As I heard this I was reminded of God’s love for us.

Abba…when I was a baby, was I pretty?

Of course honey, you still are.

­­­­1O Honey, I have examined your heart
and know everything about you.
2 I know when you sit down or stand up.
I know your thoughts even when you’re far away.
3 I see you when you travel
and when you rest at home.
I know everything you do.
4 I know what you are going to say
even before you say it, Honey.
5 I go before you and follow you.
I place your hand of blessing on my head.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for you,
too great for you to understand!

 7 You can never escape from my Spirit!
You can never get away from my presence!
8 If you go up to heaven, I am there;
if you go down to the grave, I am there.
9 If you ride the wings of the morning,
if you dwell by the farthest oceans,
10 even there my hand will guide you,
and my strength will support you.
11 You could ask the darkness to hide you
and the light around you to become night—
12 but even in darkness you cannot hide from me.
To me the night shines as bright as day.
Darkness and light are the same to me.

 13 I made all the delicate, inner parts of your body
and knit you together in your mother’s womb.
14 Thank me for making you so wonderfully complex!
My workmanship is marvelous—how well you know it.
15 I watched you as you were being formed in utter seclusion,
as you were woven together in the dark of the womb.
16 I saw you before you were born.
Every day of your life was recorded in my book.
Every moment was laid out
before a single day had passed.

 17 How precious are my thoughts about you, O Honey.
They cannot be numbered!
18 I can’t even count them;
they outnumber the grains of sand!
And when I wake up,
I am still with you!

Psalm 139

*note-this is modified to the perspective of God and how he views us. The original can be found here.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Bible, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

