She is in the Hospital

5 words: She is in the hospital.

That is what I woke up to this morning.

One of our Thai staff is in the hospital. We do not know the details of what she has or how long she is expected to be in the hospital, but she has already been there a day and we are assuming it will be some time longer.

I am at a loss for words right now, but I am certainly not a loss of emotions.

I am reminded of the song lyric “You never know what you got, ‘til it’s gone”. It is so true.

Today I realize even more my heart for these Thai women. I cannot seem to stop crying. I have spent 10 months with this woman and we have become friends. It has been a beautiful picture that continues to unravel before us. We leave little messages for each other on our desks (I try to write in Thai, and she tries writing in English.) We leave little gifts behind-mostly in the form of tea or a soda. She has taught me so much about the do’s and don’ts of the Thai culture. And we have grown in more and more understanding of each other the more we spend time and work together.

At moments, I feel like I am growing in confidence in the ability to do ‘my job’. Yet with that, it seems to make me hurt more when something bad happens. I guess this is true with any good relationship. The more you know and care, the more it hurts when something (or someone) hurts them.

Random-ish: The song I was referring to above, is now playing on the Thai radio…

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
Aside | This entry was posted in My Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

