More than a song

I have you ever heard a song and it took you back to a specific moment … a specific memory?

I have a few songs:

“All I want for Christmas is my 2 front teeth” reminds me of my grandpa. I would always spend Christmas Eve with him and he would take out his record and we would dance the night away to this song. I think we even watched the VHS of it too.

“Blessed be the name of the Lord” takes me back to the 6 hour train ride in India with my friend. He was so in love with this song. He asked me for the lyrics and he sang that song over and over. It sounded more like “bessed be…..name Lord” but it was beautiful.

“Hey there Deliah” brings me back to college with my roommate. For some reason whenever the song came on, we would sing it to eachother (missing most of the lyrics)

“Every move I make”takes me back to kidz camp at church. The hand motions and seeing the kids worship was so simple and beautiful. There are many songs that take me back, but this one is the one most would recognize. Similarly, the name “Miss Liz” takes me back to this place….

Tonight I heard another one of these songs, yet it was not a happy memory that was attached to it.

Last year when I was serving in Malaysia, there was one week where we were serving children. I still cannot say much about this, but they were being abused in the name of Jesus. It was horrific to witness. While we were there, we felt that we were called to love and bring the joy of the Lord to the children there. We taught them some games, about Jesus and some songs…. “Here I am to worship” was one of those songs. We wrote the lyrics out on the board so the kids could follow along. As it was a 2nd/3rd language, we slowly went through the pronunciation of the words and some of the meanings.

I remember signing to the song. As I was signing, I could see a few children trying to sign with me. Afterwards, they came up to me and asked if I could teach them how to do it to the songs that we taught them. I promised them that I would.

Well some events led to another and we were forced to leave early….and I was unable to keep my promise to these children.

Tonight at worship, one of the songs we taught the children was played. I have not heard this song in months. Initially, I could not sing it. I could only sign it. I began to think of these beautiful children and I began to pray for them. I prayed for their safety and protection. I prayed that they would see and know who Jesus really is. I prayed for their leaders.

Though it is hard to hear this song, it is good, it is a great reminder to pray. These children need someone fighting for them in prayer. They are helpless and hurting, and the best thing I can be doing is praying for them and praying for change.

You can read my blog I posted after I left the boys home here. It is titled “He Knows”.

Psalm 147:1-5

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

