Are you ready for Christmas?

I heard today someone ask “Are you ready for Christmas”. The person answered “No, I have so much still left to get done! Between work, Christmas presents and my family, there is not enough time!”

On my long bus ride home (We were stuck in traffic), I had time to really think about this phrase Are you ready for Christmas?”. If Christmas is truly about Jesus, then we can say “Are you ready for Jesus”. Would your answer change? This puts a new perspective on it all.

John (the Baptist) was sent by God to prepare the way and to get people ready to meet Jesus. “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is near.” Matthew 3:2

In general, we do not like change; which means, we do not like to hear ‘repent’ because it means we need to make a complete change and go in the opposite direction of where we were once walking in sin.

Change implies something new, a foreign ground, the unknown. But what I can tell you about change with God is that it is good. Not only that, it is a beautiful place. It is a place of an exciting adventure full of joy, peace and love! Is it hard to walk away from the life you knew so well?…, yeah…but a life walking towards the King of Kings is so much more fulfilling and beautiful.

John was sent to prepare our hearts because God knows we need time to prepare to receive Jesus in our lives. It is a BIG leap of faith. It is like what Will Smith said in the movie ‘Hitch’

“Because that’s what people do. They leap, and hope to God they can fly, because otherwise you just drop like a rock, wondering the whole way down “Why in the hell did I jump?” But here I am, Sarah, falling, and the only one that makes me feel like I can fly is you.”

 So are you ready to jump?

Are you ready for Jesus?

Are you ready for Christmas?

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey, Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

