Change is Coming

 My head knew of this, but my heart was not so ready to follow this. As I have been writing manuals for the new MTS program and for the English and Baking Managers, it Is hitting me more and more, that they will not be ‘mine’. I will no longer be the English Teacher in Patong. I will no longer bake the cookies for the teams and hotels. I will no longer be making birthday cakes for the staff.

So what will I do you may ask? I will manage those areas. I will oversee each of the areas that I have started from scratch.

I have discovered that my role here is to build strong foundations of programs that do not exist to pass them on. And though this is good and needed, it is hard.

I literally have poured everything into these areas and within a month I will be training people to replace me. In 3 months, I will oversee these areas and begin a new area.

A part of me really loves doing the ‘dirty work’. I have made these programs my own. I have discovered what works and what doesn’t work. I love what I do, and it feels like it is being taken from me.

I do realize that what is ahead can equally be as good or even better. It is just the initial stages of change.

To think that in 2 weeksI will be wrapping up the baking and English programs in a box and putting a ’ fragile’ sticker on them. Hoping and praying they too will treasure it with care.

I know the Lord is growing me and moving me into the next stage of my journey with Him. If it was easy or comfortable, then I would never grow.

I guess this is what Christian growing pains are like….

Areas I look forward in my new role: investing into the women who will work under me. Seeing them grow in confidence in the Lord and their role at SHE. Seeing them succeed in what they are doing and finding the same joy as I did with it.

I get to really establish the Hotel Training Program like I did with the English Program.

There may be a new area of ministry that will open up that I can explore, brainstorm how to serve and begin the steps of accomplishing that. It may be with the Burmese people or more to do with the Thai nationals. I get to see a need and fill it.

Areas I am not looking forward to: giving it up ….. possible reprimands of staff not doing what they are suppose to be doing. Not as much one-on-one time with the Thai nationals.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Change is Coming

  1. Alex Reiley says:

    Wow! Unexpected change. Change is definitely hard but you have a good attitude and perspective about it. Imagine years from now looking back on this transition smiling and shaking your head in confirmation of knowing then that it was the right path.. Praying for you. I know the Lord is right there at your side.
    Alex

  2. Jacci says:

    Wow, I didn’t realize you were transitioning! You have done well. JT

    • lizolson says:

      Thanks Jacci! It is a crazy time of transition. It is exciting andheart-wrenchingall at the same time. I know you know what this is like. I look forward to reading your book soon! Blessings from Thailand! Swadee Ka

Leave a Reply

