My new (old) car!

My boss always has his eyes out for deals on used cars. He has a few friends that are mechanics and he ran into one who happened to have a used car for sale. It is a white four door, manual car that was made in the 80’s . Though you can tell it was made in this time frame, it runs really well. There was no air conditioning in the car, but I was able to use my bartering skills to get him to install the air conditioning, fix the ball joints and the choke all for his original price.

At the end of the day, I will have the car for about $1,500. Who knew you could buy a reliable car, with insurance for that cheap here?!?!

It is kind of a surreal moment for me.

It is like buying your first car, but different. To me this is more of a sign of home, permanence. It is a statement that I am really here long term. It is exciting.

Plus this will be better for the ministry. I will be able to simply get into my car (yeah, it is still weird to say that), and go. I will no longer need to wait 30 minutes to an hour for the local bus (each way). That is 1-2 hours wasted each way. This way I will be saving, time-which is so valuable here!

Furthermore, I could extend the hours of my English Classes to better accommodate my students. Most of the bars girls wake up at 2pm and start getting out of the house around 3pm. By being able to move the classes back by an hour (or by adding another class), will possibly enable more women to attend our classes. The reason we cannot do this now is due to the buses. The last bus leaves at 5pm. If you were to miss this bus, you would need to pay 18 times more money to take a tuk tuk/taxi home. And with me teaching twice a week, this really isn’t an option as we do not have the finances to do so.

Additionally, I will be able to go out more and do more things on this beautiful island and not have to be dependent on overpriced taxis and tuk tuks.

It is an exciting new phase of my journey here in Thailand.

I still have some work to do on learning how to drive a manual, but I am getting better day by day. There are many hills here, and I am spending a lot of time on those dreaded hill starts!

Blessings

Prayer:

Praise-for this car

Pray-financial support

Pray-Continual growth of English Class attendance

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My new (old) car!

  1. Stephanie says:

    Praise Jesus!! Having a car is definitely gonna be a huge blessing to you and the ministry! Congrats, Liz!

Leave a Reply

