This day was going to be different…

Yesterday was such a crazy day! I got on the bus and headed out to Patong to teach English again. But something within me felt that this day was going to be different, and that feeling was dead on.

As I was praying and preparing for this lesson, I took an extra 2 beginner packets with me in faith. I had no leads or telephone conversations to make me come to this ‘random act’. I just did it in faith.

And I am so thankful I did! I had 4 new beginner students! Yes that is right, 4! I have never had 4 new students just come who were really serious about learning English with me.
Needless to say, it was a busy hour. I corrected pronunciation, taught “I like ___” and
had a fun time with 7 students in all. Fortunately, I have the first hour set up for my advanced students and the second hour is for the beginning and new students.

The advanced students have the option to stay for the second hour and help out. I am so glad one of them did. “P” has become such a great helper and has grown so much in her confidence in the English Language. She also is talking ownership of being a teacher. She wants to be in charge of creating an attendance book, giving receipts for those who paid, wants to be in charge of the applications etc….

It is certainly a good feeling.

I now need to make sure I carry 5 mini packets with me to every class!  Praise God. I also have a funny feeling that it will keep growing to their friends.

Prayer Requests:

Praise: You can rejoice with me and the Father in the growth of this program.

Pray: for a classroom. We currently are meeting above a smelly fish market, and soon we will outgrow it. We either need a free place to meet, favor with a person who owns a room we can use, or have the finances come in to rent a room. We know we need to remain in Patong, for it is where the women are. We have tried having them come to us, and it is simply not effective.

Pray: for the women coming to the class. May the feel the presence of the Lord and may He begin to transform their hearts and minds. Right now I have “P”, “A”, “Y”, “J”, “P”, “C” and ‘S” attending my class.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in English Classes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This day was going to be different…

  1. Alexandria Reiley says:

    Liz, That is so exciting about the new students and the growth of the program. I will pray for a new room or the funds to rent one. What is the cost of doing something like that on a monthly basis?
    Alex Reiley

    • lizolson says:

      We have been looking around and the cheapest place we have found is about $350 per month.

      To open a room with them, we need to pay a deposit of 3 months rent in advance and pay some money for the keys.

      Then, like any building, we would need to pay the electric (which would vary every month). We are hoping to create a drop in center for these women. Where we would have coffee and some small snacks, be able to hang out with the women, teach English, give advice and counsel, and a place to go during emergencies.

      This has been the vision of SHE for years, and it seems like this is the time that it might finally happen. We are excited and wait in anticipation for God to provide the funds to do this.

      To start it all off, we would need about $1,100 and monthly about $350.

      Thank you for all of your prayers and support. If you would like to donate, you can do so on Paypal to mark.biddell@yahoo.co.uk

      Blessings in the name of Jesus.
      Liz

Leave a Reply

