Head, Shoulders, Butt… Earwax

So you most likely know the kids’ song “Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes”, well while I was at church, I learned “Head, Shoulders, Butt, Earwax”. Yep, you read it right. Butt….Earwax

I was so surprised, and to top it all off, it was taught/sung all while having a meal together.

Needless to say it was a day full of laughter and smiles.

Who says church is suppose to be boring?!? Here, every church is a new experience and full of new adventures around every corner.

This Sunday, they were teaching me the parts of the body in Thai (and I taught them some in English as well)

Random thought of the day: What I love about the Thai language is how they put smaller words together to make another word. Like “Water น้ำ+ Smells Good หอม=Perfume”  or “Water น้ำ+ Fruit ผลไม้= Fruit juice”  or “Car รถ+ Room โรง+Study เรียน=School Bus

So what ‘combo’ of words makes ‘earwax’? poop ขี้+ear หู= earwax  the same applies for the eye goop you get in the mornings poop ขี้ +eye ตา=eye goop

Test out your word solving skills below. Can you correctly match the meaning to these ‘Thai words’?

1 Car + Fire A Fish Sauce
2 Room + Study B Pharmacy
3 Water + Fish C Chinese
4 Friend + House D Blue
5 Frame + Eye E Train
6 Shop + Sell + Medicine F Library
7 Ten + Two G River
8 Language + China H Glasses
9 Food + Morning I Coworker
10 Room + Food J School
11 Pain + Head K Midnight
12 Day + This L Hen
13 Room + Book M Neighbor
14 Color + Sky N White
15 Water + Strong O Cinema
16 Room + Water P Twelve
17 Book + Travel Q Breakfast
18 Room + Work R Today
19 Father + Mother S Bathroom
20 Saturday + Sunday T Headache
21 Half + Night U Factory
22 Friend + Work V Ice
23 Mother + Chicken W Passport
24 Room + Movie X Restaurant
25 Color + Rice Y Weekend
26 Mother + Water Z Parents

Answers: 1E, 2J, 3A, 4M, 5H, 6B, 7P, 8C, 9Q, 10X, 11T, 12R, 13F, 14D, 15V, 16S, 17W, 18U, 19Z, 20Y, 21K, 22 I, 23L, 24O, 25N, 26G

Want more? Play another Thai game here!

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Language Learning, My Journey, Phuket, Thai Culture, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Head, Shoulders, Butt… Earwax

  1. Jacci says:

    Oh, that was fun. I got most of them!

    • lizolson says:

      I am glad you had fun Jacci!  I am having fun trying to figure them out in all of my classes. Once I discover one, it clicks better and my teacher seems to laugh at me, but I still find it enjoyable!

  2. Ariana says:

    That’s so cool! I love the simple logic—especially the sky and color one. That wouldn’t work in seattle I would have to say though!

    • lizolson says:

      Most of the colors are like that

      Color+Sugar=Brown
      Color+Sky= Blue
      Color+ Rice= White

      So it was really nice as I was learning my colors, because I learned so many other words too!

Leave a Reply

